AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 1 of 9 (156 Views)

Cross Section Scales

156 Views, 8 Replies
01-23-2014 12:20 PM

What are un acceptable scales for cross sections?

 

I am being told that 1" = 5' is unacceptable

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,800
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 2 of 9 (150 Views)

Re: Cross Section Scales

01-23-2014 12:36 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I don't think I'd call it unacceptable, but 5 scale does seem to be a bit large.  How wide are your sections?  If it's a small width, I'd probably go a little larger than I normally would just because they'd look strange on the paper if they're too small.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post!
*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 696
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 3 of 9 (145 Views)

Re: Cross Section Scales

01-23-2014 12:45 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I'm assuming your talking horizontal scale and not vertical?

 

We normally use 1"=10' Horz, 1"=5' Vert, so 2:1 exag.

 

 

Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP2)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 4 of 9 (137 Views)

Re: Cross Section Scales

01-23-2014 01:10 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
We normally use 1:100, no exaggeration.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 9 (136 Views)

Re: Cross Section Scales

01-23-2014 01:16 PM in reply to: doni49
very small section. essentially a detail
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 9 (132 Views)

Re: Cross Section Scales

01-23-2014 01:17 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Allow me to clarify.

 

its a small section maybe 30 feet wide

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,800
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 7 of 9 (131 Views)

Re: Cross Section Scales

01-23-2014 01:18 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Joe-Bouza wrote:
very small section. essentially a detail

I'd say that would be classified as a judgement call and it'd be totally up to the drafter, cad mgr and the engineer in charge.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post!
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,885
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 8 of 9 (98 Views)

Re: Cross Section Scales

01-25-2014 05:19 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

I do not like an exaggerated scale in my cross sections, but I usually use 1"=10', however, in your case I think 5' would be appropriate.  Only 6" wide.

 

Sounds good to me.

 

:smileyhappy:

Bill

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 9 (93 Views)

Re: Cross Section Scales

01-25-2014 06:01 AM in reply to: wfberry
Thought so Bill. thier desire for 1/4" per foot on engineering plans just seems awkward
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.