AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
darreng_oa
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎05-11-2013
Message 1 of 4 (167 Views)

Creating a surface from a surface

167 Views, 3 Replies
09-15-2013 09:03 AM

i need to create a sub-set surface from my main surface. not sure what the vernacular is for a "subset surface" in c3d but i do have a feature line that bouinds the desired area, but that is as far as i can solve.

 

i did try creating a new surface - pasted the main surface in the edit definition, then deleted triangles until the boundary alighned wiht my featureline.  This seemed to work, but  when i view the properties of the smaller subset suface, it shows a mimum and maximum elevation that is incorrect.

 

any ideas?

 

Valued Contributor
rendarin
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎05-27-2013
Message 2 of 4 (121 Views)

Re: Creating a surface from a surface

09-15-2013 04:40 PM in reply to: darreng_oa
Uhh, instead of a feature line you can just make it a 2D polyline and add it as a Boundary.
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,856
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 4 (103 Views)

Re: Creating a surface from a surface

09-15-2013 10:48 PM in reply to: darreng_oa
not sure about the elevation issue - did you add the feature line to the surface definition?


As the previous poster said add a 2d poly as sn outer boundary
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 271
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 4 of 4 (82 Views)

Re: Creating a surface from a surface

09-16-2013 07:45 AM in reply to: darreng_oa

Try the Create Cropped Surface command.  The command is located in the expanded Surface Tools ribbon panel on the modify surface or contextual surface ribbon tabs. 

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.