AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
bigmaz
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 11 of 17 (289 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-02-2012 02:17 AM in reply to: bigmaz

I do have 3DS Max Design, hence the fact I was able to click on Export it to 3DSMax :smileywink:

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,710
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 12 of 17 (285 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-02-2012 02:19 AM in reply to: bigmaz

bigmaz wrote:

I do have 3DS Max Design


Did you try to load the .vsp3d file in 3DS Max Design, saving then as .3DS classic for Autocad..?

Distinguished Contributor
bigmaz
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 13 of 17 (282 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-02-2012 02:20 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

Nice one, cheers, thats the step that was missing :smileyhappy:

Distinguished Contributor
bigmaz
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 14 of 17 (281 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-02-2012 02:25 AM in reply to: bigmaz

Ok, opened 3DS Max Design, and I cannot find a way to load the .vsp3d file. 

Distinguished Contributor
bigmaz
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 15 of 17 (275 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-02-2012 02:29 AM in reply to: bigmaz

Its ok, found Civil View :smileytongue:

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,710
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 16 of 17 (268 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-02-2012 02:34 AM in reply to: bigmaz

I have no 3DS Max to simulate your scenario, however it's odd, that you can "Export to Civil View for 3ds Max Design" but this latter cannot handle the resulting file.

Maybe would you post this issue in the 3DS Autodesk forum..?

Distinguished Contributor
bigmaz
Posts: 134
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 17 of 17 (257 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-02-2012 02:58 AM in reply to: antoniovinci

I was just trying to open the file, but you need to use the Civil View extension to import that kind of file.  Which I have now done, and works

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.