AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
bigmaz
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 1 of 17 (1,694 Views)

Creating a smooth TIN surface

1694 Views, 16 Replies
10-01-2012 07:42 AM

Hi guys

 

Been chatting with an architect in my office, and he was asking me if we could make our TIN surfaces smooth.  I cannot find a way, would it take a 3rd party program?  He wants it like the image i attached.  Any ideas on how to achieve this with a TIN surface?

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 17 (1,682 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-01-2012 08:04 AM in reply to: bigmaz

You can't totally smooth a Surface and have it remain a Civil 3D Surface. You can however make it smoother by using the AeccSmoothSurface command. This will add point to the surface to make it appear smother.

 

You might be able to explode a copy of the surface and somehow make the 3D faces into an AutoCAD Surface and do something with that. But I've never tried that since the result would be for display only and not linked to anything in Civil 3D.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
bigmaz
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 3 of 17 (1,680 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-01-2012 08:08 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

I dont need it to stay as a Civil 3D surface, its for visual, not to design with. :smileyhappy: 

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 17 (1,673 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-01-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: bigmaz

You could try:

 

Click Output tab > Export panel > Export to Civil View for 3ds Max Design. Then use the 3DSin command to bring it back in as a Mesh. Pretty much a guess but if you play with it you might get what you want.

 

That would only work if you had 3DS Max Design.

 

Allen

Distinguished Contributor
bigmaz
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 5 of 17 (1,654 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-01-2012 09:08 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Hi, I cannot work out the dialogue box for that.  It looks like it can only export corridors?  Can you please explain step by step after you click on the Output tab > Export panel > Export to Civil View for 3ds Max Design ...............  What next?  Thanks

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,521
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 6 of 17 (1,651 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-01-2012 09:15 AM in reply to: bigmaz

Help says: "Feature lines, corridor, surface, and point data can be exported with Export to Civil View for 3ds Max Design."The left side of the dialog has items you can check to include in the export. If you have a surface it will be listed. If not using corridors, ignore the right side of the dialog.

 

Note, I have never used this until just now so I don't know how this will look in 3ds Max

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 17 (1,610 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-01-2012 11:39 AM in reply to: bigmaz

OK. Here's what I've come up with.

 

Copy your surface. Set the surface to display triangles I'd then suggest smoothing the surface. Then explode the surface twice to get 3DFaces. Use the CONVTOSURFACE command to convert the individual 3DFaces to mesh surfaces. Then use UNION to make them all one mesh. Finally use MESHSMOOTH to smooth it further. Say yes anytime it warns you about primitive solids.

 

That's about the best I can come up with without in depth study and trial.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,189
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 17 (1,587 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-01-2012 02:56 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

AllenJessup wrote:

You could try:

 

Click Output tab > Export panel > Export to Civil View for 3ds Max Design. Then use the 3DSin command to bring it back in as a Mesh. Pretty much a guess but if you play with it you might get what you want.

 

That would only work if you had 3DS Max Design.

 

Allen


Hence the the old saying : "All Contours are lies":smileywink:

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
bigmaz
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎09-27-2006
Message 9 of 17 (1,555 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-02-2012 01:03 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

When I Export to Civil View for 3ds Max Design, it saves it as a  .vsp3d file, but when I do 3DSin command, it only lets me use .3ds file types.....

*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,782
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 10 of 17 (1,548 Views)

Re: Creating a smooth TIN surface

10-02-2012 01:38 AM in reply to: bigmaz

As already said by Allen: "That would only work if you had 3DS Max Design"...

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.