AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
rui.viegas
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-08-2008
Message 1 of 11 (468 Views)
Accepted Solution

Creating 3D poly from Alignment and Profile

468 Views, 10 Replies
08-14-2012 06:46 AM

Hello,

 

I've been asked to create a 3D poly from a given alignment and profile.

 

The only way I know to do it, is to create a feature line using the "createfeaturelinefromalign" command and exploding it.

 

My problem is that the resulting 3D poly loses a lot of the "precision" the feature line had (how closely it followed the alignment).

 

 

So does anyone know of another way to create a 3D poly or of some method of maintaining the feature precision when exploding it?

 

 

Thanks in advance,

I seem to get a better FL if I do not use the FL from alig command. Instead, edit the profile style to display the 3D Chain in Model views and explode that. Copy the result to the clipboard and use UNDO to get back to the live profile. Paste the result back into the file.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 11 (467 Views)

Re: Creating 3D poly from Alignment and Profile

08-14-2012 06:55 AM in reply to: rui.viegas

I seem to get a better FL if I do not use the FL from alig command. Instead, edit the profile style to display the 3D Chain in Model views and explode that. Copy the result to the clipboard and use UNDO to get back to the live profile. Paste the result back into the file.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 11 (465 Views)

Re: Creating 3D poly from Alignment and Profile

08-14-2012 06:56 AM in reply to: jmayo

Also when you use the FL from Alig command what values do you set for the weeding. You can try to minimize the values for grade and distance and see if you get better results.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Member
rui.viegas
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-08-2008
Message 4 of 11 (449 Views)

Re: Creating 3D poly from Alignment and Profile

08-14-2012 08:20 AM in reply to: jmayo

I played with the weeding values, and it definitely had an impact when creating the FT but after exploding it the results were always bad in terms of the 3D poly's precision.

 

Your solution for creating the 3D poly using the 3D chain was quite usefull and gave very acceptable results. Thank you.

 

I found one thing curious however, and did some tests and always ended up with the same results.

All 3D polys made by using the 3D chain didn't show the last meter of the alignment. it was easy to correct that but does this happens top you when you use the 3D chain method?

 

 

Again thanks for the help

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 11 (442 Views)

Re: Creating 3D poly from Alignment and Profile

08-14-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: rui.viegas

"All 3D polys made by using the 3D chain didn't show the last meter of the alignment"

 

Without seeing the data I would bet that the alignment is longer than the corresponding profiles. Make sure the profiles extend through the full alignment stationing or shorten the alignment.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Member
rui.viegas
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-08-2008
Message 6 of 11 (437 Views)

Re: Creating 3D poly from Alignment and Profile

08-14-2012 09:02 AM in reply to: jmayo

Thought that as well but double checked the profile's lenght and it matched the alignment's lenght

 

I also tried to shorten the alignment's lenght about 10m without making any change to the profile, in order to guarantee that the profile's lenght was not the problem, and came out short the last meter. 

 

The last test I made was to create a test file with a simple alignment and profile from stracth but alas that last meter still eluded me.

 

I'm currently using Civil 2011.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 11 (434 Views)

Re: Creating 3D poly from Alignment and Profile

08-14-2012 09:13 AM in reply to: rui.viegas

Unless this profile is from a corridor surface that is not fully designed to the extents of the profile then a solution eludes me as well. Sry.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,176
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 11 (420 Views)

Re: Creating 3D poly from Alignment and Profile

08-14-2012 10:31 AM in reply to: jmayo

And if you want to increase the tessellation of the Chain. See [this] post.

 

Allen

 

3D Chain tesselation.PNG

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,981
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 11 (406 Views)

Re: Creating 3D poly from Alignment and Profile

08-14-2012 12:35 PM in reply to: jmayo

johnm wrote:

I seem to get a better FL if I do not use the FL from alig command. Instead, edit the profile style to display the 3D Chain in Model views and explode that. Copy the result to the clipboard and use UNDO to get back to the live profile. Paste the result back into the file.


Can you expand on this a bit as I'm a little lost....

 

I've got the profile in model view (SW isometric) but i don't follow the next steps as when I explode the 3D chain it produces a block and when exploded again the elevations are way out

 

Thanks

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 10 of 11 (394 Views)

Re: Creating 3D poly from Alignment and Profile

08-14-2012 01:44 PM in reply to: neilyj

Perhaps something changed in 2013? I get perfect 3d polys after explodoing twice. Perfect results from a surface and layout profile.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.