AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
s_hutchison
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-31-2013
Message 1 of 3 (372 Views)
Accepted Solution

Create Surface from 3D data

372 Views, 2 Replies
10-31-2013 10:23 AM

I am working in Civils 3D 2014 and I have a survey with points already on the correct elevation layer, I have tried creating a surface from this but it does not show up.

My process:

I create a new drawing and insert a block (my topo survey) and click explode when I do this

- I create the surface by TIN and make sure I have the correct layer for the points that I am selecting

- Click ok

- Then go into that surface and turn on all layers and refresh - still nothing

- I also made sure that my surface style was 1m contours so I would definately see this 

 

Any ideas?  I am very new to all this!

 

Sam

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,877
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 3 (365 Views)

Re: Create Surface from 3D data

10-31-2013 10:56 AM in reply to: s_hutchison

Do you have a TXT or CSV file of the points? If so you can import them as Cogo Points or attach the file to your Surface.

 

If not you'll have to create the Surface from Drawing Objects and select the point blocks.

 

Allen Jessup

Valued Mentor
gccdaemon
Posts: 458
Registered: ‎09-14-2010
Message 3 of 3 (339 Views)

Re: Create Surface from 3D data

10-31-2013 02:06 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

Or you can throw your hands in the air scream at the computer, quit your job and relocate to Sri Lanka. Although the previous statement sounds a little less problematic. Have a great Halloween!

Andrew Ingram

Civil 3D x64 2012
Win 7 x64 Ultimate
I7 3820 (3.6ghz quad core with HT)
32gig RAM (Corsair XMS3 4x8g)
Intel x z79 mobo (BOXDX79TO 2011 socket)
Radeon HD 7850 2gb GDDR5
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.