AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
henryosegueda
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎09-28-2006
Message 1 of 4 (677 Views)
Accepted Solution

create profile layout from feature line

677 Views, 3 Replies
10-04-2012 02:21 PM

Hello everyone

 

Here is my situation: I want to create a profile layout by feature line. Is it possible?

I have a pipe about 3 miles long, an alignment along the pipe, and a provie view showing the exisitng surface and pipe network. The pipe network was created from a feature line. I projected the feature line to the profile.

 

This is why I want to do this: I need to label the horizontal and vertical angle points of the pipe in plan view. I crated a style that shows the station and elevation. I want the elevation to reference the profile. But it only gives me the elevation of the surface and I need the top of pipe elevation.

 

I tried crate profile by layout and traced over the top of the pipe in profile but its 3 miles and it will take a long time.

Does anyone know how to get what I want done faster?

 

Thanks for your time

 

 

Currently using Civil 3D 2012 and 2013.

 

 

 

 

 

oh man, you are sooooo close. just use the feature line you created and offset it 10 feet to either side and the add those to a surface as breaklines. Ta DAAA!!!! "surface" created at the elevation of the top of pipe.

 

Valued Contributor
emelendez
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎07-01-2011
Message 2 of 4 (666 Views)

Re: create profile layout from feature line

10-04-2012 02:53 PM in reply to: henryosegueda

oh man, you are sooooo close. just use the feature line you created and offset it 10 feet to either side and the add those to a surface as breaklines. Ta DAAA!!!! "surface" created at the elevation of the top of pipe.

 

Edwin Melendez
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 Certified Professional
Certification No. 00319327
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,600
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 3 of 4 (665 Views)

Re: create profile layout from feature line

10-04-2012 02:56 PM in reply to: henryosegueda

Here's one way that would work:

 

Use stepped offset to offset your feature line five or ten feet on each side, in plan view. Make a surface using the the three feature lines as breaklines. Add to your Surface View a surface profile made from this new surface.

 

To your label, add a reference text that references a profile. When you place the first label, you'll be asked to pick the reference profile.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Active Contributor
henryosegueda
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎09-28-2006
Message 4 of 4 (656 Views)

Re: create profile layout from feature line

10-04-2012 03:10 PM in reply to: emelendez

IT WORKED!!

That was so easy.

Thanks for your help.

 

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.