AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 1 of 4 (151 Views)
Accepted Solution

Create points tool window doesn't obey defaults

151 Views, 3 Replies
08-14-2013 01:43 PM

The create points tool window doesn't use the Points Creation options I set for Default Elevation and Description, when go to create a bunch of points I have to key these in for each one. I know if I go and set these in the settings tab they will stick, but I would like for the tool window to work like it implies.

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)

What specific method are you using to create these points?

As an example Points>Create Points Miscellaneous>Manual>Brings up the Create Points dialog.

 

In the dialog if Parameter>Points Creation:

Default Elevation = 900

Default Description = Test

Prompt for Elevations = Automatic

Prompt for Descriptions = Automatic

 

Then click away and the Elev remains at "900" & the Desc at "Test".

 

If the Prompt values are set to "Manual" then they the user prompts appear @ command line.

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,534
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 4 (121 Views)

Re: Create points tool window doesn't obey defaults

08-15-2013 05:27 AM in reply to: IanMcClain

What specific method are you using to create these points?

As an example Points>Create Points Miscellaneous>Manual>Brings up the Create Points dialog.

 

In the dialog if Parameter>Points Creation:

Default Elevation = 900

Default Description = Test

Prompt for Elevations = Automatic

Prompt for Descriptions = Automatic

 

Then click away and the Elev remains at "900" & the Desc at "Test".

 

If the Prompt values are set to "Manual" then they the user prompts appear @ command line.

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Valued Contributor
caddie99
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎06-09-2010
Message 3 of 4 (114 Views)

Re: Create points tool window doesn't obey defaults

08-15-2013 06:10 AM in reply to: IanMcClain

to get default point and point label styles to stay you must make these changes first

Capture.JPG

 

Valued Mentor
IanMcClain
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 4 of 4 (99 Views)

Re: Create points tool window doesn't obey defaults

08-15-2013 07:28 AM in reply to: Jay_B

Thanks Jay. I didn't realize there was a setting for the promts to be manual or automatic.

-Ian McClain
(running C3D 2012 sp4, Win7 64bit, 8GB)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.