AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
295 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-25-2005
Post 1 of 9

Create pipe network from multiple objects?

872 Views, 8 Replies
12-14-2012 09:27 AM

Can I create a pipe network from multiple objects?

 

For example, I have 10 feature lines that I want to use to create one pipe network. Instead of creating 10 pipe networks one at a time, can I create one pipe network all at once?

 

Thanks.

*Expert Elite*
2,799 Posts
308 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Post 2 of 9

Re: Create pipe network from multiple objects?

12-14-2012 09:50 AM in reply to: rhdins

You would need to join the feature lines into one first.

 

Use the Joinfeatures command.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
2,537 Posts
266 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Post 3 of 9

Re: Create pipe network from multiple objects?

12-14-2012 09:54 AM in reply to: tcorey

That may not be possible, eg if the features aren't connected end-to-end but branching off in different directions, or not touching at all.

 

Another option is to create 10 networks, then merge them together.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Distinguished Contributor
295 Posts
3 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-25-2005
Post 4 of 9

The feature lines aren't connected.   That's what I've be...

12-14-2012 09:57 AM in reply to: troma

The feature lines aren't connected.

 

That's what I've been doing, is creating multiple pipe networks, then merging them.  I would like to be able to select all 10 feature lines and create one pipe network.

 

Any other ideas?  Maybe it's just not possible?

 

Thanks.

Valued Contributor
62 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Post 5 of 9

Re: The feature lines aren't connected. That's what I've be...

12-20-2012 04:09 PM in reply to: rhdins

I like tcorey's suggestion. Add additional feature lines just to connect them for creating the network then joinfeatures. After you create the network from the single feature line, you can delete those dummy pipes from the network. Maybe mark the ones that need to be deleted with a magenta circle near the midpoint until the pipes are deleted from the new network.

Contributor
20 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-07-2009
Post 6 of 9

Re: Create pipe network from multiple objects?

02-27-2014 11:58 AM in reply to: rhdins

I have run into this too.

 

If you have a lot of 3D polylines to convert you can use Map3D to write them out as a .shp file first with Object data attacehd, then use the Insert Tab / Import dropdown / 'Import GIS Data' command to read that .shp file in as a pipe network. If you are carefull about the object data you can even assign different pipe sizes to all the pipes as it is created.

 

Explode the 3D polyiles to 3D line segments first. Then attach object data for Internal diameter, wall thickness and description that matches the pipes you want to use from your Parts List. Also use the Z1 and Z2 properties as elevation data in the .shp file. MapExport to a .shp file, then import it into C3D as GIS Data. It all ends up as one network.

 

It is a bit of extra to do, but if you have a large number of pipes it will be reasonably efficient. :smileyvery-happy:

*Expert Elite*
4,599 Posts
912 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Post 7 of 9

Re: Create pipe network from multiple objects?

02-27-2014 12:13 PM in reply to: dean.petersen

I prefer my solution:smileywink:

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Contributor
20 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎04-07-2009
Post 8 of 9

Re: Create pipe network from multiple objects?

02-27-2014 12:16 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Yep. That is nice. What does it cost?

Product Support
69 Posts
7 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Post 9 of 9

Re: Create pipe network from multiple objects?

03-12-2014 12:58 AM in reply to: rhdins

Hey Dean,

I've taken your idea and compile it into a video for better illustration. :smileyhappy:

http://www.screencast.com/t/JM0KBtov6c

 

 

See also: http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2014/ENU/index.html?url=filesCUG/GUID-05A18F1A-ADAE-4103-9317-2F46A5C...

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



 




Wendy Lim
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!