AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
kgrover
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎09-06-2007
Message 1 of 6 (320 Views)
Accepted Solution

Create copy of lowered surface

320 Views, 5 Replies
01-17-2014 01:41 PM

Is there a way to create a copy of a surface that was lowered?? For example, we have an original ground surface, and drop it by 0.3 to get a rough stripped surface. However, I want to keep the original ground surface, and then create a new stripped surface. 

 

Right now we export landxml and reimport and rename. Just looking for a way not to have to do this. 

 

Kevin

No no no...

Make a new surface "OG lowered x", paste OG into it and lowere that surface. now if OG gets updated the lowering is dynamic. eazy peezy
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,043
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 6 (313 Views)

Re: Create copy of lowered surface

01-17-2014 01:49 PM in reply to: kgrover
No no no...

Make a new surface "OG lowered x", paste OG into it and lowere that surface. now if OG gets updated the lowering is dynamic. eazy peezy
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Member
jasonp
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-17-2014
Message 3 of 6 (313 Views)

Re: Create copy of lowered surface

01-17-2014 01:50 PM in reply to: kgrover

I always just use the AutoCAD Copy command to copy the original surface and put it back in the same spot then raise or lower one of them.  Hope this helps.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,004
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 6 (310 Views)

Re: Create copy of lowered surface

01-17-2014 01:51 PM in reply to: kgrover

I've never done it with a lowered surface. But according to 2014 help, a regular copy should work on a surface.

 

Copying a Surface

 
 
 

Create a copy of an existing surface.

When a surface is copied, the copy is named using a naming convention. For example if the original surface that is copied is named ‘Surface 1’, the new surface is named ‘Surface 1 (1)’. If Surface 1 is copied again, the new surface is named ‘Surface1 (2)’. If ‘Surface 1(1)’ is copied, the new surface is named ‘Surface 1 (1) (2)’.

To copy a surface

  1. In the drawing area, select the surface, right-click, click Basic Modify ToolsCopy.
  2. At the command line, you are prompted to specify a base point for the surface.

  3. Pick an insertion point in the drawing area.

    The surface is copied in the drawing and added as a new surface to the Prospector tree.

  4. To edit the name of the surface, right-click the surface in the Prospector tree and click Properties.

    The Surface Properties dialog box is displayed with the Information tab active. The Name field contains the name of the copied surface, which is, by default “ <surface-name> (1).”

  5. Enter a new name in the Name field.
  6. To edit the description of the surface, enter a new description in the Description field.
  7. To change the style that the surface is using, select a style from the Object Style list or use the standard style selection controls.
  8. Click Apply to make the changes, or click OK to make the changes and close the Surface Propertiesdialog box.
Valued Contributor
kgrover
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎09-06-2007
Message 5 of 6 (307 Views)

Re: Create copy of lowered surface

01-17-2014 01:56 PM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Thanks, this works great!

 

Kevin

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,043
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 6 (292 Views)

Re: Create copy of lowered surface

01-17-2014 02:13 PM in reply to: kgrover
HTH
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.