AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
asloat
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 1 of 5 (176 Views)
Accepted Solution

Create alignment from object results in wrong length

176 Views, 4 Replies
09-17-2013 06:36 AM

I am working on creating an alignment from a single polyline. The polyline, which was originally created in Carlson 2012, is a flat polyline that is about 1200 feet in length. When I select it with create alignment from object, it accepts it and seems to work. For some reason though, the stationing is way off  --- e.g. the true 50' mark is showing up as 0+04.17 which results in an end station of 0+99.31 on a 1191' polyline.

 

edit> I also have tried this with a brand new polyline I created in civil3d, same issue.

It looks like you are off by a factor of 12. Check your units and make sure you are starting with a Civil 3D template.

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.

I went through and recreated everythign from scratch and it seems fine now. I think i may have utilized an architectural template at some point. thank you.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,946
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 5 (171 Views)

Re: Create alignment from object results in wrong length

09-17-2013 06:49 AM in reply to: asloat

Can you post a file with the polyline?

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 3 of 5 (166 Views)

Re: Create alignment from object results in wrong length

09-17-2013 06:56 AM in reply to: jmayo

It looks like you are off by a factor of 12. Check your units and make sure you are starting with a Civil 3D template.

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
asloat
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
Message 4 of 5 (154 Views)

Re: Create alignment from object results in wrong length

09-17-2013 07:24 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

I went through and recreated everythign from scratch and it seems fine now. I think i may have utilized an architectural template at some point. thank you.

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 5 of 5 (147 Views)

Re: Create alignment from object results in wrong length

09-17-2013 07:27 AM in reply to: asloat

When I see a post about things being the wrong size I'll divide the two number and typically the are either off by 12, 0.83333, ~3 or ~0.333. Mixing units is pretty easy to do.

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.