Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create a basic door and window

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
rww09c
3405 Views, 11 Replies

Create a basic door and window

Hello,

Can someone please show me how to create a basic door and a window. I know it's easy, but I'm new to AutoCad. I'm taking a class, and I know that we use the W (Write Block) command and the I (Insert) command. I think that I have to know how to take the dimensions for a door and window and create them. I really need some help.

Thank You

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
Joe-Bouza
in reply to: rww09c

Glad to see you are asking for help. Unfortunately you are in a DG that focuses on civil3d; a civil engineers earthwork tool.

Quickly: Get the detail of you door and window, create the geometry per spec, use your newly found wblock command and write it to your library (your arbitrary place to sore your blocks) Not in the wblock dialog you can pick an insert point : choose one that makes sence for snaping your windows and doors in place.

I suggest you connect to the Dynamic block DG HERE. Send Charles_Shade my regards.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People)

HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram

Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win10 OS
Message 3 of 12
rww09c
in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Mr. Bouza,

Thanks for the quick reply. I did connect and reply to the Dynamic Block DG, but because I don't have much time, I'm responding to your email. This is my 2nd week ever using AutoCad, so I need directions in baby-steps. If I'm understanding you, it seems that I should use the specifications and make the window/door. For example, one of the specifications is the window: 3' -0"*4'-0".