AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
steviek68
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Message 1 of 6 (374 Views)

Corridor Surface Problems

374 Views, 5 Replies
11-01-2012 03:27 AM

Hi,

 

I'm having issues with building corridor surfaces (please see attachment). More and more I'm finding parts missing from the triangulation surface. Given it occurs mostly at Junctions I suspect my assemblies may be faulty, but having inspected them i can't find an obvious problem. Can anyone please help?

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,989
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 6 (341 Views)

Re: Corridor Surface Problems

11-01-2012 07:00 AM in reply to: steviek68

Draw a polyline around and add to the surface as a show boundary - this may not get to the root of the problem (why there are holes) but at least you'll get a surface

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Member
steviek68
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Message 3 of 6 (338 Views)

Re: Corridor Surface Problems

11-01-2012 07:05 AM in reply to: neilyj

Thanks, I had a go at that already which is a decent workaround, but as you say it doesn't quite solve the problem. My gut feeling is that it's an issue with the assembly, perhaps I'll have a closer look when I get a moment.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 6 (337 Views)

Re: Corridor Surface Problems

11-01-2012 07:05 AM in reply to: steviek68

I can't say if this is your problem. But I've had similar errors when I had a the curb vertical or undercut. Once I fixed it in the assembly the wholes were gone.

 

Allen

Active Member
steviek68
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-24-2012
Message 5 of 6 (320 Views)

Re: Corridor Surface Problems

11-01-2012 10:14 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Had a bash at that but unfortunately it was to no avail. Thanks for the tip though. I may have another attempt with another kerb/curb set just to completely eliminate the possibility.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 6 of 6 (315 Views)

Re: Corridor Surface Problems

11-01-2012 10:23 AM in reply to: steviek68

I had something similar happen when the corridor was set to match existing surface at a set slope from edge of road.  Got everything looking good, then had to update the profile.  Elevations changed, slope matches at a different point.  Suddenly the boundary I had for the surface was wrong, because the matchline moved.  Ended up with missing triangles similar to yours.

I guess this is way too simple a problem that you wouldn't have caught it, sounds like you were already looking into the boundaries....but just adding my twopence worth of thoughts to the discussion.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.