AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
ronpemberton7479
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-12-2008
Message 1 of 4 (314 Views)

Corridor surface bounday

314 Views, 3 Replies
05-22-2012 03:01 PM

When I create a corridor surface I usually create a suface boundary automatically by daylight.

Half the time this works fine, half the time it doesn't work at all. If I view the corridor in 3d view it looks fine.

I tried to create a shrinkwrap polyline to use as a boundary but when I picked the corridor in the shrinkwrap command

it locked up my computer. These are just simple corridors with no intersections. Anyone know why the automatic boundary only works intermitently? Is there a better/easier way to create the surface boundary?

I am using C3D 2011.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 4 (301 Views)

Re: Corridor surface bounday

05-22-2012 08:26 PM in reply to: ronpemberton7479

Typically when a daylight boundary doesn't work it's bacause the line crosses itself somewhere.  Does your corridor have any curves with intersecting links along the inner side?

Valued Contributor
ronpemberton7479
Posts: 85
Registered: ‎03-12-2008
Message 3 of 4 (283 Views)

Re: Corridor surface bounday

05-23-2012 08:17 AM in reply to: ronpemberton7479

I did get a warning the last time that "the mask was not added as a boundary due to crossing polygon" but when I do a "zoom to" it zooms to a single line at the daylight line. I see nothing crossing even when rotating it in 3D view. The corridor looks clean. My frequency is set to 10' along the curves so the corridor is not overlapping.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 4 (280 Views)

Re: Corridor surface bounday

05-23-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: ronpemberton7479

You may or may not actually have a problem, but the software thinks that there's something wrong.  If you open the Boundaries tab of the corridor dialog and click on the Definitions ellipsis you should get more information on how the boundary is built.  There are some tools there for displaying and checking the boundary definition which may help.

 

Clipboard01.jpg

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.