AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 1 of 24 (817 Views)
Accepted Solution

Corridor sections xref problems

817 Views, 23 Replies
11-18-2013 08:53 AM

I have a corridor model I have created in one drawing. In that drawing I have my alignment, profile, and corridor. In another drawing I have referenced in my corridor and alignment and I cut and created sections in this drawing. Everything up to this point is working fine. The sections look good, the corridor looks good, etc. Now when I go to xref those sections into my actual sheets, I run into problems. Half of my corridor does not show up. I have attached screen shots of what my section looks like it the drawing it was created, and in the drawing it is xref'd into. Please let me know what I'm doing wrong! I have tried sampling at all intervals, so I know that's not the issue. 

 

 

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
What version are you using? I have used a similar workflow in 2012 SP4 version and the sections appear correctly. My workflow is slightly different. Alignment & profile in drawing. Corridor in it's own drawing with alignment & profile data reffed. Section BASE dwg, with alignment & profile data reffed, corridor xreffed as attachment Section Sheets dwg, Section BASE xreffed as attachment. Perhaps you're using a different version than I am.

I have had this problem when the corridor drawing is xrefed into the cross section drawing, which is then xrefed into cross section sheet drawings.

 

Open the original cross section drawing and change the reference type of the corridor xref from Overlay to Attach.  Save the cross section drawing and reload its reference in the sheet drawings.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,148
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 24 (784 Views)

Re: Corridor sections xref problems

11-18-2013 09:11 AM in reply to: csevers

I can't find the thread but this has been reported by others.  Apparently it's related to the new service pack.

 

Edit: Found it here.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 573
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 3 of 24 (776 Views)

Re: Corridor sections xref problems

11-18-2013 09:17 AM in reply to: csevers
What version are you using? I have used a similar workflow in 2012 SP4 version and the sections appear correctly. My workflow is slightly different. Alignment & profile in drawing. Corridor in it's own drawing with alignment & profile data reffed. Section BASE dwg, with alignment & profile data reffed, corridor xreffed as attachment Section Sheets dwg, Section BASE xreffed as attachment. Perhaps you're using a different version than I am.
Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 4 of 24 (771 Views)

Re: Corridor sections xref problems

11-18-2013 09:21 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer
I am using Civil 3D 2013 Product Version: G.204.0.0, SP2
Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,148
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 5 of 24 (766 Views)

Re: Corridor sections xref problems

11-18-2013 09:24 AM in reply to: csevers

Was that SP installed recently?  If it was that I'll wager that you have run into the same issue.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 6 of 24 (764 Views)

Re: Corridor sections xref problems

11-18-2013 09:27 AM in reply to: sboon
Is there a solution? From what I read in that thread, there is no solution. I'm also using 2013 service pack 2, so this should have been fixed since SP1, no?
Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 7 of 24 (761 Views)

Re: Corridor sections xref problems

11-18-2013 09:29 AM in reply to: sboon
Maybe 2 months ago? I can't say if it was working correctly before since I don't use corridors all the time.
Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,148
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 8 of 24 (761 Views)

Re: Corridor sections xref problems

11-18-2013 09:29 AM in reply to: csevers

The issue was created by the SP installation, and there is no fix right now, except to remove it.

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 9 of 24 (577 Views)

Re: Corridor sections xref problems

01-10-2014 01:48 PM in reply to: csevers

I re-tested this bug with a brand new drawing where I set up a very simple alignment, profile, and corridor. I then made another drawing, data linked in my alignment, xref'd my corridor drawing, cut sample lines, and created my section views. Again, to this point everything is fine. When I xref the drawing containing the actual section views into another drawing, parts of the corridor are missing. I have tested this on 2 different computers, on Civil 3D 2013 SP2, and on Civil 3D 2013 without any updates, and have observed the same behavior each time. PLEASE HELP!

 

I realize I could create the sections in the section sheets themselves, but then I will have to go into each drawing individually to adjust labeling, styles, etc. I also have tried using a template, but my client's title block is a very awkward shape that results in a non-rectangular viewport and I haven't been able to get my section views to line up correctly when I use this method.

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 573
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 10 of 24 (568 Views)

Re: Corridor sections xref problems

01-10-2014 02:03 PM in reply to: csevers
So how many "pages" would you actually have. I try to limit my layouts to 10 per drawing. If yours is anywhere near that, you could just create your sheets in your sections drawing. Get one sheet created, then copy the layout and pan the viewport to the correct sheet. Not elegant, but a workaround.
Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.