AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
gjrcmb
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
Message 1 of 4 (447 Views)
Accepted Solution

Corridor Reports

447 Views, 3 Replies
04-01-2012 10:08 PM

When selecting execute to create a "Corridor Daylight Line Report", I get the message "no surface profile for the corridor baseline" (see picture 1), hit OK, and a no report is generated.  When trying to create a "Corridor Lane Slope Report", I get the report dialog box, but when trying to Create the Report I get the message "can't find surface profile ..." (see picture 2).  I am able to create the Lane Slope Report but it does not include existing ground information.

 

When you look at corridor properties and the parameters tab a profile is assigned to the baseline alignment, but this is the design profile not a surface profile.  I would think that as long as the design profile has a surface profile associated with it, that this would be what the reports are looking for.  Or perhaps the surface profile would be extracted from the surface that is assigned as a target surface for the corridor.

 

Yes, you can change the profile to the existing surface, but that makes no sense as then your corridor is laid out based on the existing profile.  I tried adding a duplicate based line with the existing surface profile assigned to it, but that didn't seem to do anything.  In fact that probably just confused the corridor.

 

Does anyone have any insight in how to resolve this problem, or define a corridor baseline surface profile?  Or does everyone have the same problem when trying to generate these two reports with C3D 2012, and that's just the way it is?

Add the finished ground surface as a surface profile to the alignment that was used to create the sample lines (not exactly sure why you need to do this but when I did it I no longer got the message).

Valued Mentor
gjrcmb
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
Message 2 of 4 (395 Views)

Re: Corridor Reports

04-04-2012 03:39 PM in reply to: gjrcmb

So I see I hit on a topic that either nobody has a clue about, or folks just don't care.  Not really that big of deal, just wanted to know if there is a solution out there.  Can others at least confirm they see the same problem, even if they do not have a solution?

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,859
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 4 (397 Views)

Re: Corridor Reports

04-04-2012 03:49 PM in reply to: gjrcmb

Add the finished ground surface as a surface profile to the alignment that was used to create the sample lines (not exactly sure why you need to do this but when I did it I no longer got the message).

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Valued Mentor
gjrcmb
Posts: 326
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
Message 4 of 4 (385 Views)

Re: Corridor Reports

04-04-2012 04:37 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

Ah, very good Brian!  Yes, it would not have occurred to me that you need to create a finished grade profile by sampling the finished corridor surface to get these two reports to work properly, especially when the second message I posted refers to "no existing ground elevation data being reported".  Obviously, it seems as though it is referring to an existing ground surface profile, but apparently not.  It also seems that the "Daylight Line Report" also requires that the sampled finished surface profile to exist for all corridors when you select Execute.

 

In any regard, thanks for sharing the solution!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.