AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
mdutcavich
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-12-2009
Message 1 of 5 (733 Views)

Corridor modeling with skewed bridge

733 Views, 4 Replies
09-11-2009 11:54 AM
I'm attempting to model a corridor on a bridge replacement/highway realignment project where the bridge has a decent skew (40 degrees or so). The problem is that the corridor and associated surface are creating an area of fill that basically fills in the stream where in reality there's a bridge there. Is there anyway to get the program to recognized a skewed bridge assembly?

On another subject - has anyone out there modeled propsed wingwalls and the grading as it wraps around the wall and grades out in front? I haven't played with this much yet but I'm assuming I would make a wall breakline from a 3D polyline for the front and back of the wall, then would need to make a grading object in the front that would grade to those breaklines or the finished surface?

Thanks for any input.
*Matt.Anderson
Message 2 of 5 (733 Views)

Re: Corridor modeling with skewed bridge

09-11-2009 12:04 PM in reply to: mdutcavich
Have you tried to end that region at the station associated with the
station that the streams top of bank and the grading object cross?

We model wingwalls in the Final Surface just as do Existing Topographic
surveys...usually featurelines..

Matthew Anderson, PE CFM



mdutcavich wrote:
> I'm attempting to model a corridor on a bridge replacement/highway realignment project where the bridge has a decent skew (40 degrees or so). The problem is that the corridor and associated surface are creating an area of fill that basically fills in the stream where in reality there's a bridge there. Is there anyway to get the program to recognized a skewed bridge assembly?
>
> On another subject - has anyone out there modeled propsed wingwalls and the grading as it wraps around the wall and grades out in front? I haven't played with this much yet but I'm assuming I would make a wall breakline from a 3D polyline for the front and back of the wall, then would need to make a grading object in the front that would grade to those breaklines or the finished surface?
>
> Thanks for any input.
>
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,341
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 3 of 5 (733 Views)

Re: Corridor modeling with skewed bridge

09-12-2009 08:13 AM in reply to: mdutcavich
For the skewed bridge, I would consider handling it like an intersection. Create a feature line or alignment for the skewed ends of the bridge and use it as a target for the corridor at each end. You will have to end the corridor before the skew and create an assembly that consists of a single point to run along the target feature line just as you would for a curb return.

For the wing walls, create a feature line for the top of wall and one for the bottom of wall. You should be able to control the grading around the face that way.
Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
*neilw
Message 4 of 5 (733 Views)

Re: Corridor modeling with skewed bridge

09-12-2009 08:18 AM in reply to: mdutcavich
Correct that. You can use an assembly consisting of just the pavement per
your requirements and stretch it to the skew line.



__________ Information from ESET NOD32 Antivirus, version of virus signature database 4419 (20090912) __________

The message was checked by ESET NOD32 Antivirus.

http://www.eset.com
*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 816
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 5 of 5 (733 Views)

Re: Corridor modeling with skewed bridge

09-13-2009 09:33 AM in reply to: mdutcavich
You could always create a skewed corridor model and use its surface to create profiles on the alignments. Use offsets in the assembly to control the width and level. As the profiles are dynamic you wont need to mod it when it changes.
Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.