AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 1 of 4 (1,097 Views)
Accepted Solution

Corridor contour line issue

1097 Views, 3 Replies
01-05-2012 12:04 PM

So we just got C3D 2012 yesterday and I've got to use it to make a grading plan for a site. This is a small job and I could hand draw the contours just as quickly, but I'd like to learn to use C3D to do it for larger future jobs.

 

I'm having a number of issues, I believe I am incorrectly setting up my daylight in the assembly.

 

I've attached 3 template files that chronologically illustrate my process, as well as my issues.

 

My main problems are as follows:

 

1. My contour lines are not staying within the limits of disturbance, although I see where they should connect with existing grade contour lines. I tried all sorts of daylighting subassemblies to acieve this with no luck.

 

2. When contours do remain within the limits of disturbance they seldom match up with existing grade contour lines as they should.

 

The files can be found here: http://www.mediafire.com/?9ar8si2uw3qci

 

 

The first is a blank template, includes all the data I began with.

 

The second is after I've created an alignment, profile, assembly, and corridor.

 

The last is after I've created everything from the second plus the surface.

 

I don't think I have made any errors through the first two drawings.

 

 

Other than that everything seems to be working correctly.

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3

To expand my thoughts for....

Do you really want the ditch/daylights to attach to the bottom of the lanes? Normally one would attach these to the top.

Make sure to check Overhang correction in the Corridor Surface properties. Also choose the Add Link as breakline option.

Create a boundary for the surface, using the Daylight lines, else you will have the TIN running over land at the inside of the curve.

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,483
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 4 (1,089 Views)

Re: Corridor contour line issue

01-05-2012 12:24 PM in reply to: csevers

Wow, MediaFire file sharing is sure laden with spam. How about trying Dropbox or something similar?

 

Now, on to the problems....

The 2 subassemblies, DaylightToOffset....the offset distance is the distance from the alignment, not how wide yo want the link to be. Edit these to be -30 on the left and 44 on the right and you sould see results closer to what you think you should be getting.

 

You may want to increase the corridor frequency for a smoother surface.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,483
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 3 of 4 (1,081 Views)

Re: Corridor contour line issue

01-05-2012 12:50 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

To expand my thoughts for....

Do you really want the ditch/daylights to attach to the bottom of the lanes? Normally one would attach these to the top.

Make sure to check Overhang correction in the Corridor Surface properties. Also choose the Add Link as breakline option.

Create a boundary for the surface, using the Daylight lines, else you will have the TIN running over land at the inside of the curve.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Distinguished Contributor
csevers
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎10-28-2011
Message 4 of 4 (1,061 Views)

Re: Corridor contour line issue

01-05-2012 02:09 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

Thanks for the comments! I actually figured out the boundary problem about 5 min after posting this, and managed to piece together a subassembly that worked from the presets, but it'll be good to know how to put together a better one in the future. Also, it's a gravel road, so no worry about the daylight being attached to the bottom of the road. Sorry for Mediafire, I just used the first free upload site that came up.

Chris Severs, EI
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro 2000 Dual Monitor
6.00 GB RAM
Intel Xeon W3550 @ 3.07 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2, Civil 3D 2012 SP2, Civil 3D 2011 V3, Civil 3D 2010 V3
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!