AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
rito
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-07-2004
Message 1 of 6 (319 Views)

Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

319 Views, 5 Replies
11-05-2012 09:37 AM

I have a road with a baseline passing thru a curb and gutter.  I have an assembly with a variable median which will work up til about 276+70 (where the red vertical line is); and another for when the baseline completely passes thru the curb and gutter, after about 277+40. 

 

How do I hand the situation b/n 276+70 and 277+40?

 

I was thinking maybe a variable curb width, if there is one? Or a lane transition, but not sure how to offset it 6" vertically.

 

Anyone that can provide assistance would be greatly appreciated!

 

Thank you in advance!

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,111
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 2 of 6 (310 Views)

Re: Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

11-05-2012 09:59 AM in reply to: rito

 

"but not sure how to offset it 6" vertically."

 


You can move a Subassembly with the AutoCAD Move command and it will respect the offset you have created relative to the Assembly attachment point.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 3 of 6 (306 Views)

Re: Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

11-05-2012 10:13 AM in reply to: rito

why not build an assembly to attach to a new baseline that represents the flow line or front edge of the curb where it meets the hma.   There is no rule that says baselines in a corridor have to follow the survey centerline.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Contributor
rito
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-07-2004
Message 4 of 6 (304 Views)

Re: Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

11-05-2012 10:16 AM in reply to: dgordon

I will try that, thank you!

 

It's my first time starting a corridor from scratch so I appreciate the input.

Contributor
rito
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-07-2004
Message 5 of 6 (246 Views)

Re: Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

11-07-2012 11:52 AM in reply to: rito

I created an alignment along the back of curb with an associated assembly. But now since the back of curb alignment is not parallel to the project baseline, how do i get the regions to matchup in the corridor?

*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 6 of 6 (197 Views)

Re: Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

11-09-2012 05:31 AM in reply to: rito

rather than letting them over lap, instead leave a gap in between and let the surface created from the corridor knit them together for you.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.