AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
15 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-07-2004
Post 1 of 6

Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

326 Views, 5 Replies
11-05-2012 09:37 AM

I have a road with a baseline passing thru a curb and gutter.  I have an assembly with a variable median which will work up til about 276+70 (where the red vertical line is); and another for when the baseline completely passes thru the curb and gutter, after about 277+40. 

 

How do I hand the situation b/n 276+70 and 277+40?

 

I was thinking maybe a variable curb width, if there is one? Or a lane transition, but not sure how to offset it 6" vertically.

 

Anyone that can provide assistance would be greatly appreciated!

 

Thank you in advance!

*Pro
1,181 Posts
180 Kudos
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Post 2 of 6

Re: Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

11-05-2012 09:59 AM in reply to: rito

 

"but not sure how to offset it 6" vertically."

 


You can move a Subassembly with the AutoCAD Move command and it will respect the offset you have created relative to the Assembly attachment point.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Pro
1,474 Posts
49 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Post 3 of 6

Re: Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

11-05-2012 10:13 AM in reply to: rito

why not build an assembly to attach to a new baseline that represents the flow line or front edge of the curb where it meets the hma.   There is no rule that says baselines in a corridor have to follow the survey centerline.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Contributor
15 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-07-2004
Post 4 of 6

Re: Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

11-05-2012 10:16 AM in reply to: dgordon

I will try that, thank you!

 

It's my first time starting a corridor from scratch so I appreciate the input.

Contributor
15 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎06-07-2004
Post 5 of 6

Re: Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

11-07-2012 11:52 AM in reply to: rito

I created an alignment along the back of curb with an associated assembly. But now since the back of curb alignment is not parallel to the project baseline, how do i get the regions to matchup in the corridor?

*Pro
1,474 Posts
49 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Post 6 of 6

Re: Corridor: Baseline passes thru curb/gutter

11-09-2012 05:31 AM in reply to: rito

rather than letting them over lap, instead leave a gap in between and let the surface created from the corridor knit them together for you.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!