AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
MtnMax700
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 1 of 6 (169 Views)
Accepted Solution

Copying Styles from 10 to 12

169 Views, 5 Replies
02-04-2013 01:56 PM

We did the upgrade last week and I am trying to use the drag and drop to bring styles and description keys across.  Done it many times between 10 drawings.  I am opening 2 drawings-one from 10 with everything I want and one in 12 to be my template.

 

Problem is I am only seeing one the current drawing when I click on TOOLSPACE.  Any ideas?

 

Thxs.

 

David

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,309
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 2 of 6 (164 Views)

Re: Copying Styles from 10 to 12

02-04-2013 02:03 PM in reply to: MtnMax700

Change the Toolspace to show Master View.

 

In 2012 you no longer have to drag-n-drop. Go to the Manage tab on the Ribbon, far right side is a Styles panel with an Import button....

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Distinguished Contributor
n2itive
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-15-2003
Message 3 of 6 (158 Views)

Re: Copying Styles from 10 to 12

02-04-2013 02:14 PM in reply to: MtnMax700

I think the import styles is the way to go. However, I'm pretty sure you can still drag and drop as well (I know I can) but remember you have to have the drawings open in the same sessions of c3d. So you would have to open your 2010 dwg (with the styles you want) while in a session of 2012 and then dragg into your new 2012 dwg.

Infrastructure Design Suite 2014
Civil 3D 2013 sp2
Windows 7 x 64, 16 GB
Intel Xeon @ 2.80 GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K2000
Distinguished Contributor
MtnMax700
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 4 of 6 (156 Views)

Re: Copying Styles from 10 to 12

02-04-2013 02:16 PM in reply to: MtnMax700

I had figured out the MAIN View and did it that way.  I do not have Manage on my ribbon.  Tried to put it there but do not have "panels" under the ribbon.

 

Thxs.

 

David

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,309
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 5 of 6 (149 Views)

Re: Copying Styles from 10 to 12

02-04-2013 02:28 PM in reply to: MtnMax700

So your Ribbon doesn't look something like this? Are you starting C3D with a C3D profile? You may need to right clcik on an empty area in the ribbon and select the Tabs & Panels to show.

 

2-4-2013 2-22-06 PM.png

 

You can also just issue the command: ImportStylesAndSettings

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Distinguished Contributor
MtnMax700
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 6 of 6 (124 Views)

Re: Copying Styles from 10 to 12

02-04-2013 04:24 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

It's when I try to edit my "Workspace" that I don't see "panels" under "Ribbons"-yet I do see them under the main "Ribbon" list on left side.

 

Thxs.

 

David

 

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.