AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
brow931
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 1 of 9 (131 Views)

copy tool palette

131 Views, 8 Replies
01-21-2014 07:11 AM

I am trying to copy my tool palette from the design center from Civil 3D 2013 to 2014. I did this in the past and can't remember how. Does anyone remember how to copy tool palettes between versions.

 

Scott

Product Support
Matt_Haokip
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎05-27-2011
Message 2 of 9 (91 Views)

Re: copy tool palette

01-23-2014 09:51 AM in reply to: brow931

Hi Scott,

 

You may want to refer to the following help document.

http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2014/ENU/index.html?url=filesACD/GUID-CF1117E9-DD3B-4E79-9333-41D5E63...

 

Thanks,

If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!



Matt Haokip
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,189
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 9 (84 Views)

Re: copy tool palette

01-23-2014 05:51 PM in reply to: brow931

set the search path in options?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
brow931
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 4 of 9 (74 Views)

Re: copy tool palette

01-24-2014 07:22 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
What search path are you referring to?
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,189
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 9 (71 Views)

Re: copy tool palette

01-24-2014 07:27 AM in reply to: brow931

The one where your custom tp are located?

TPPATH.PNG

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
brow931
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 6 of 9 (69 Views)

Re: copy tool palette

01-24-2014 07:34 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
Are you referring to changing the path location to point toward an older version of C3D? I know that you are not suppose to copy from older versions into the new version. Would this work the same way? You should be able to just migrate the tool palettes between version. There is a custom migrate dialog box but that doesn't come up either.
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,189
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 7 of 9 (66 Views)

Re: copy tool palette

01-24-2014 07:47 AM in reply to: brow931
No not at all. I assumed you have custum palettes with non c3d elements on them. Why would you want earlier version c3d palette?
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
brow931
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎04-14-2009
Message 8 of 9 (63 Views)

Re: copy tool palette

01-24-2014 07:54 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
I have custom non C3D palettes in 2013 that I want to be in 2014 but I don't want to link every palette back to 2013. I want to use the new palettes and still be able to see and use my custom palette.
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,189
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 9 (61 Views)

Re: copy tool palette

01-24-2014 08:02 AM in reply to: brow931
OK.
When you made your custome palletes did you make them in drawings in a central location i.e server?

Were you sharing them before?

If you had previously exported the pallet info you would want to add that path to the list.

Also look int Matts suggestion.
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.