Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

31 REPLIES 31
SOLVED
Message 1 of 32
Karon.williams
62778 Views, 31 Replies

Converting from Microstation to AutoCAD

Is there a tool in Microstation that converts .dgn to .dwg without any loss of styles, lineweights, etc?

31 REPLIES 31
Message 2 of 32
Neilw_05
in reply to: Karon.williams

I'm not an expert on ustn but I do use it. The SS2 version has Real Drawing libraries so it might provide better fidelity than older versions when converting DGN to DWG. Depending on which version you have you can use the EXPORT command from the file menu to convert DGN to DWG, or you can just use SAVEAS. I'm not sure which method offers the best fidelity but I don't think either will be 100% since ustn has more capabilities than ACAD with regard to linetypes, references and other features and vice versa for some features in ACAD. Also sheets may not translate to conventional ACAD layouts if they were not set up properly for that purpose.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
AEC Collection/C3D 2024, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 10 64 PRO

http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Message 3 of 32

In Microstation v8i, SAVEAS .dwg usually works pretty well for me.  Make sure you use the correct units when saving (Feet vs. Survey Feet) or your site might shift by a few feet.  Also, using Windows True Type fonts instead of Microstation fonts helps.

David Dixon
Senior Civil Designer

hdrinc.com/follow-us
Message 4 of 32
rnoyes