AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 1 of 4 (2,923 Views)
Accepted Solution

Convert surface boundary to polyline

2923 Views, 3 Replies
02-01-2013 08:24 AM

I need to convert my surface boundary to a polyline so I can use it to clip another surface. Is there a simpler way than tracing it with the polyline command?



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
Yeah. Turn your border on within your surface style, select surface and within contextual ribbon there is a extract objects icon, then a dialogue will pop up asking what you would like to extract. Uncheck everything except for border, hit ok. Border will be extracted as a 3dpolyline. Turn off border within surface style, CONVERT3DPOLYS, command to convert into polyline.
Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 2 of 4 (2,918 Views)

Re: Convert surface boundary to polyline

02-01-2013 08:57 AM in reply to: jamesbarnett
Yeah. Turn your border on within your surface style, select surface and within contextual ribbon there is a extract objects icon, then a dialogue will pop up asking what you would like to extract. Uncheck everything except for border, hit ok. Border will be extracted as a 3dpolyline. Turn off border within surface style, CONVERT3DPOLYS, command to convert into polyline.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 3 of 4 (2,892 Views)

Re: Convert surface boundary to polyline

02-01-2013 11:59 AM in reply to: sjg

also after getting a polyline from this method remember to use drawing cleanup with the simplify linear objects and set it to 0.5 tolerance to reduce the number of vertices drastically.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Valued Contributor
jamesbarnett
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎01-09-2013
Message 4 of 4 (2,878 Views)

Re: Convert surface boundary to polyline

02-01-2013 03:13 PM in reply to: jamesbarnett

Thanks guys!



AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 SP 1
Windows 7 (64)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.