AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
martin.folber
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎12-25-2010
Message 1 of 11 (9,474 Views)

Convert Civil 3D DWG to simple AutoCAD 2D DWG

9474 Views, 10 Replies
05-17-2012 07:59 AM

Hi all,
I would like to open discussion about function that could easilly convert Civil 3D drawing with its all corridors, grading groups, feature lines etc. to regular AutoCAD 2D drawing to be able to hatch, measure, trim and so on. Is it clear, that corridor edit commands and features are not good enough to add another structures as stairs, culverts, parking lots with green islands and another civil structures...

Export to AutoCAD or AEC Explode  converts drawing to some 2D/3D exploded hybrid, where it takes hours of editing, flatting and joining lines to make graphically correct and usable 2D drawing. And what worse, when the design is changed, user has to start from scratch again and again, which is not twice effective... :smileysad: And it is just directly against all Autodesk marketing phrases how to work smarter using BIMs

Why products as Inventor or Revit have these 2D publishing features and Civil 3D doesnt? It seems like nobody from Autodesk solves this kind of request. 3D is nice, but 2D is necessary because of lots, lots of work has to be still drawn manually.

So I am asking, am I alone who needs such feature?

Thanks
Martin

Valued Mentor
owenmull
Posts: 356
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Message 2 of 11 (9,467 Views)

Re: Convert Civil 3D DWG to simple AutoCAD 2D DWG

05-17-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: martin.folber

There is a command called 'exporttoautocad' that will, essentially, convert the C3D objects and save them out as an AutoCad .dwg file, viewable in normal AutoCad.

 

You might be able to export as a DWF and go that route, too.

-Owen
Windows 7 x 64 bit
NVidia Quadro K3000M Dual Monitor
32.0 GB RAM
Intel Core i7-3820QM @ 2.70 GHz
Civil 3D 2013 SP 2
______________________________________________________________
Usually, I find that the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.
*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,378
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 3 of 11 (9,451 Views)

Re: Convert Civil 3D DWG to simple AutoCAD 2D DWG

05-17-2012 09:37 AM in reply to: martin.folber

Hi,

 

Another option is to create a layout with viewports showing what you'd like to export and use command _EXPORTLAYOUT.

 

Let me also give a statement to this two sentences:

>> And it is just directly against all Autodesk marketing phrases how to work smarter using BIMs

>> [...] lots of work has to be still drawn manually

As long as you draw manually things into existing (3D)CAD-plans you are not ready for use/work in structures of BIM. And to exchange 3D-data between products there is no option to reduce them to 2D as you lose a lot of information that can only be recreated with a lot of budget. One of the main goals of BIM is NOT to lose data that already exists.

 

- alfred -

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Expert Elite*
antoniovinci
Posts: 1,740
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Message 4 of 11 (9,436 Views)

Re: Convert Civil 3D DWG to simple AutoCAD 2D DWG

05-17-2012 12:31 PM in reply to: owenmull

owenmull wrote:

You might be able to export as a DWF


If you have Adobe Acrobat, you can "add" measureability to PDFs created by Civil.

In that way, with the free Adobe Reader your users may dimension and annotate them.    

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,317
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 5 of 11 (9,432 Views)

Re: Convert Civil 3D DWG to simple AutoCAD 2D DWG

05-17-2012 12:49 PM in reply to: martin.folber

Microstation supports both 2D and 3D models. If you obtain the latest version of Power Draft SS3 (Lite version of Microstation) you sould be able to reference a C3D drawing and merge it into a 2D DGN model. Everything will be 2D and ready for export to DWG.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Active Contributor
martin.folber
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎12-25-2010
Message 6 of 11 (9,429 Views)

Re: Convert Civil 3D DWG to simple AutoCAD 2D DWG

05-17-2012 01:46 PM in reply to: martin.folber

Thanks all for the responses :smileyhappy:

 

1) Command EXPORTTOAUTOCAD unfortunatelly doesnt solve conversion to 2D. Corridor feature lines are exploded to small short lines.

 

2) DWF is not very good format as a source drawing for future edits.

 

3) _EXPORTLAYOUT looks better, but final block is not georeferenced and still in 3D.

 

4) PDF is good format for display, but again not for future edits.

 

5) Conversion to DGN, Neil you are right, this is exactly the way, how to make it. But why I have to use another software, when Civil 3D is build on AutoCAD?

 

Alfred,

Civil 3D is presented as BIM solution. I dont want to loose any 3D data that already exist, but I have no other choice, when there are no suitable tools and workflow how to add these 2D/3D structures to exisiting corridor or grading group. Culvert is good example, it is easier to draw culvert with all slopes (in plan) in 2D than to model it somehow in 3D. I am not talking about any 3D data exchange (Revit, Structure etc) just about pure funcionality of Civil 3D...

 

I dont want more than simple, pretty straightforward tool that is able to convert 3D Civil data to (unfortunatelly dead) 2D AutoCAD data.

 

Martin

 

 

 


*Expert Elite*
Alfred.NESWADBA
Posts: 9,378
Registered: ‎06-29-2007
Message 7 of 11 (9,424 Views)

Re: Convert Civil 3D DWG to simple AutoCAD 2D DWG

05-17-2012 02:01 PM in reply to: martin.folber

Hi,

 

>> 3) _EXPORTLAYOUT looks better, but final block is not georeferenced and still in 3D.

Well, I have not recognized yet that _EXPORTLAYOUT creates 3D-objects, so I learned something (whenever I need this command, until now I never needed it).

To come more close to 2D then:

  • explode the Blockreferences that were built from the Civil-objects
  • use the ExpressTools-command _FLATTEN
  • ....and all is down to 0

 

To get it georeferenced I have no solution (without development) besides the one doing it manually (e.g. via control-points), sorry.

 

- alfred -


-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Active Contributor
martin.folber
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎12-25-2010
Message 8 of 11 (9,419 Views)

Re: Convert Civil 3D DWG to simple AutoCAD 2D DWG

05-17-2012 02:22 PM in reply to: Neilw

Hi Alfred,

thanks again for your answer. I really appreciate it. Unfortunatelly FLATTEN command doesnt work for all objects. We have some lisp utilities, that work better then FLATTEN commad, but still it is more complicated and time-consuming then it should be.

 

Thanks

Martin

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 785
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 9 of 11 (9,411 Views)

Re: Convert Civil 3D DWG to simple AutoCAD 2D DWG

05-17-2012 04:02 PM in reply to: martin.folber

I know this is not addressing your wish to push everything down to 2d.

 

Why do you feal it necessary to explode everything and flatten it all down to 2d?

 

We use civil 3d for the design and then just draw on what we want over the top of the civil 3d objects.

 

For drafting in profile views and section views that moves with the scale exagerations, we have a label style that just has a line component which we use to draw stairs, culverts (if we are not using pipes and structures), footbridges, etc. The only thing I haven't got sorted yet is circles, but I throw a non updating ellipse in for these.

 

For plan drafting, set your styles up so you can switch off, or hide the bits and pieces you want to override, hide or modify.

 

For areas and length, you can extract the corridor feature lines as polylines using the CREATEPOLYLINEFROMCORRIDOR command which can be flattened or converted to 2d.

 

Another method for areas is to make a surface out of the parts of the corridor you want and then you have the ability to extract the surface boundary for you areas.

 

I'm offering these methods up as a possible alternative to save you all the fun of getting everything exploded and flattened.

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Active Contributor
martin.folber
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎12-25-2010
Message 10 of 11 (9,389 Views)

Re: Convert Civil 3D DWG to simple AutoCAD 2D DWG

05-18-2012 12:08 AM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Hi Andrew,

thanks for your tips. I dont want to explode the objects...It is the worst way how to do it. Our users dont like these mixed 2D/3D drawings because of measuring, hatching, filleting etc.

 

I use this command CREATEPOLYLINEFxROMCORRIDOR very often, because this the best you can do. But you have to select one by one, what is not very effective. Not talking about when the design is changed.

 

You can have style to hide corridor region, but it works only perpendicular to alignment...

 

All these editining limitations force us to use 2D plan production drawings (Profile View, Cross-Section views are fine).

 

Our final plan drawings are so complex, that all enginneers have to finish in 2D...

 

Thanks anyway

Martin

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!