Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Contours running through breaklines

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
dbiehler
4395 Views, 12 Replies

Contours running through breaklines

I am having an issue with my contours running through my breaklines (feature lines).  I have reviewed many of the previous suggestions but they don't seem to work.  I have tried re-ordering the breakline, edits, etc and have also set my settings to allow crossings.  Any further suggestions?

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
Jeff_M
in reply to: dbiehler

A picture would be helpful, the drawing more so...

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
EESignature
Message 3 of 13
dbiehler
in reply to: Jeff_M

I tried to attach the file but it says it is too large.  here is the screen shot.  I am fairly new at this and this has been driving me crazy.  The magenta line is my feature line which I am trying to use at my breakline.  it is the proposed dwelling.

Message 4 of 13
rl_jackson

Dont make the house a break line - it never is.

Instead use a mask to hide the contours.

Rick Jackson
Survey CAD Technician VI

Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 5 of 13
dbiehler
in reply to: rl_jackson

I need to do a cut and fill analysis so I need to set the elevation of the basement floor.  How would I do that without breaklines at the foundation line?

Message 6 of 13
rl_jackson

Thats a little different.

You would need to create a proposed surface. Then use the house as a boundary and do a featureline offset down to the elevation you intend on setting the basement at and make that part of the new surface. Then you'll be able to get a cut/fill by comparing the 2 surfaces.