AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
trynders
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 1 of 4 (172 Views)

Contours from an architect

172 Views, 3 Replies
02-14-2013 11:06 AM

So I recieved a whole bunch of contours from an architect.  They are lines and arc.  big sweeping arcs.  Whats the best and fastest way to create a good surface.  I can change them globally to a polyline but I need to add verticies like every 5 or 10 feet to get a good surface.  Can I select multiple feature lines (after converted) to add verticies?

 

thoughts?

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,187
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 4 (168 Views)

Re: Contours from an architect

02-14-2013 11:24 AM in reply to: trynders

I wouldn't add the verts to the entities but add then by changing the supplimental factor while adding contour data to the surface

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,792
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 3 of 4 (137 Views)

Re: Contours from an architect

02-14-2013 12:54 PM in reply to: trynders

Trynders, your question is a trick question.  [...Whats the best and fastest way to create a good surface....]

 

There is no such thing as a "good" surface from contours.

 

:smileyhappy:

 

Sorry, I can't be any more help than Joe.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,986
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 4 of 4 (119 Views)

Re: Contours from an architect

02-14-2013 01:27 PM in reply to: trynders
the title of the post was enough for me to know the question being asked...you have to wonder about the strange world that architects seem to live in....!!
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.