AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
windycityengineer
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-12-2011
Message 1 of 5 (346 Views)

Contour Texts

346 Views, 4 Replies
11-16-2012 08:55 AM

The contour lines themselves are in model space. The contour texts are in paper space. How do I make the line hide under the  text? I have attached of a similar drawing done by someone else. Any help is greatly appreciated.

 

Thank you,

 

WindyCityEngineer

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 5 (341 Views)

Re: Contour Texts

11-16-2012 09:06 AM in reply to: windycityengineer

You are in an unusual situation to have the contour labels in paper space.

However, you could consider using wipeouts, although I generally despise them.  My preffered option would be to use the background mask option in Mtext.

If this text is actually Mtext, you can select them all, go to your properties, and add the background mask. I like a factor  or 1.05, and be sure to select 'Use background color'.mask.png

 


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 3 of 5 (338 Views)

Re: Contour Texts

11-16-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: windycityengineer

If your text is regular TEXT, not MTEXT, you need to convert it first.  The Express tool will do that, but you have to run it one by one, or it will combine all the labels into one piece of MTEXT.

The attached lisp will convert all the selected regular TEXT into MTEXT, leaving them as separate entities.  Be sure to set the Mtext width to zero after you convert, and then set the background mask.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 4 of 5 (270 Views)

Re: Contour Texts

11-21-2012 11:06 AM in reply to: windycityengineer

Since we are using civil 3d software why not use the contour lines to create a surface and use C3D contour lables to lable the contour lines.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,966
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 5 of 5 (244 Views)

Re: Contour Texts

11-21-2012 06:21 PM in reply to: dgordon

Very diplomatic of you , Dan :smileywink: my thoughts were in other arena's

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.