AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Harold_Alberto
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 1 of 11 (1,159 Views)

Contour lines not showing

1159 Views, 10 Replies
01-03-2013 05:16 AM

Hi All,

 

We recently received a LiDAR data in the form of an .asc file.  Brought it fine into Civil 3d. 

 

However, the level data is in mm so levels are showing as 98450 instead of 98.45.  The level ranges from 98450 to 166260.

 

When I create a surface and set the style to show contours, it only displays contour lines below 100,000.  Is this a limit in Civil 3D or am I missing some setting somewhere?  I'm using the UKIE template btw. 

 

 

TIA.

Harold

Member
g.diazfonseca
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-27-2012
Message 2 of 11 (1,120 Views)

Re: Contour lines not showing

01-03-2013 07:53 AM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

Change your "Level Of Detail" you can find it under the View Layout tap. Be sure that it is off.
Have a blessed day!

Valued Contributor
Harold_Alberto
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 3 of 11 (1,114 Views)

Re: Contour lines not showing

01-03-2013 08:08 AM in reply to: g.diazfonseca

Thank you but I already have it off.

New Member
mgreenDLZ
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-24-2012
Message 4 of 11 (1,099 Views)

Re: Contour lines not showing

01-03-2013 09:22 AM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

In Toolspace, select the Settings Tab and expand the Surface > Label Styles > Contour and right click the style in use and pick "Edit". From there, under the Layout Tab, look in the Text category to find the Contents Property and click the ellipses in the Value column. When you select that, you will be able to adjust the parameters and precision of the elevation to appear. Click the Properties drop-down in the Properties Tab and select Surface Elevation. 

 

Don't forget to click the Arrow by the Properties drop-down to confirm the recent changes.

 

I hope that helps.

 

Cheers,

Mitch

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 11 (1,095 Views)

Re: Contour lines not showing

01-03-2013 09:29 AM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

Do you want to deal with it in mm or convert to m?  There have been a few discussion on how to scale x & y but not z; I'm sure you could use a similar method to scale the z by 0.001 without scaling x & y.  Might be better way to go.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Valued Contributor
Harold_Alberto
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 6 of 11 (1,092 Views)

Re: Contour lines not showing

01-03-2013 09:37 AM in reply to: mgreenDLZ

Thank you Mitch.

 

I am however not missing contour labels but contour lines above 100000 level. 

 

I think it is a limit in Civil 3D.  In reality a level of 100,000 (m or feet) is way above any ground feature!  :smileyhappy:

 

 

Valued Contributor
Harold_Alberto
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 7 of 11 (1,083 Views)

Re: Contour lines not showing

01-03-2013 09:49 AM in reply to: troma

Since the LiDAR data is in mm, I don't mind working in mm.  We only need to produce a contour plan for now until we get the GIS data with the right units.

 

Another option I can think of is to set the Point Cloud style to show 1000 range intervals and trace over.  But that would take time due to the size. 

New Member
mgreenDLZ
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-24-2012
Message 8 of 11 (1,080 Views)

Re: Contour lines not showing

01-03-2013 09:58 AM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

I'm sorry, I must have read the problem too quickly. I thought you were saying you had an issue with not being able to display the contour labels the way you would like to see them.

Valued Contributor
Harold_Alberto
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-10-2003
Message 9 of 11 (1,076 Views)

Re: Contour lines not showing

01-03-2013 10:09 AM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

I am now trying to create a Surface Points to CSV report and will edit the levels from Excel. 

 

Not sure if it would work though, it's a large surface with millions of points.

*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 10 of 11 (1,067 Views)

Re: Contour lines not showing

01-03-2013 10:28 AM in reply to: Harold_Alberto

I'm pretty sure that excell won't accept a million points from a file.    I think it even has problems with 100k points.

 

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.