AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
RafaelMoreno
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎11-06-2006
Message 1 of 10 (221 Views)

Contour Lables for a specific contours

221 Views, 9 Replies
01-11-2013 11:50 AM

 

Hi:

 

I have a drawing with contours every 1m and according to the area that I have to display in my layouts I have to display contours either 2m, 5m or 10m.

 

How is possible to create labels for only this elevations and if it is possible, create several labels along one of these contour with specific interval

 

Thanks

 

 

Rafael

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 10 (219 Views)

Re: Contour Lables for a specific contours

01-11-2013 11:59 AM in reply to: RafaelMoreno

Simplest way I can think of is to set the Major contours to 2 or 5 or 10, as you wish, and then set the minor contours to 1m.  Then when you add the labels you can set the minor labels to none, and the major labels to display the right label style.

As you add labels there is an option for Multiple at interval, but I don't use it much.  I'm sure there is a way to set the interval.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,714
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 3 of 10 (201 Views)

Re: Contour Lables for a specific contours

01-11-2013 01:34 PM in reply to: RafaelMoreno

Are you wanting to cross all the contours at once, but only have those that are 2m, 5m, and 10m labeled?

 

Look into using Expressions. With a good set of expressions referenced into your label style, you should be able to accomplish this.

 

For example, one expression would say If SurfaceElev divided by 10 is a whole number, set label height to some postive number and to 0 if not. Next expression would say if divisible by 5 but not 10 and the next would be if divisible by 2 but not 10. I don't have time at the moment to design the expressions for you. Sorry, but next week I might be able to help if you haven't figured it out.

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Distinguished Contributor
RafaelMoreno
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎11-06-2006
Message 4 of 10 (199 Views)

Re: Contour Lables for a specific contours

01-11-2013 01:39 PM in reply to: troma

Thanks Troma

*Expert Elite*
Adriano_cad
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
Message 5 of 10 (182 Views)

Re: Contour Lables for a specific contours

01-12-2013 03:41 AM in reply to: RafaelMoreno

Hello,

 

To enter multiple tags with contour interval:

1. Select the surface.
2. Tab Labels and Tables;
3. Click on Add Label -> Contour - Multiple at Interval
4. Pick first point:
5. Pick second point:
6. Interval along contour <100,000>:

 

Thanks

Adriano Oliveira

*Expert Elite*
MaxiCAD Informática
www.maxicad.com.br
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,850
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 6 of 10 (175 Views)

Re: Contour Lables for a specific contours

01-12-2013 06:53 AM in reply to: tcorey

tcorey wrote:

Are you wanting to cross all the contours at once, but only have those that are 2m, 5m, and 10m labeled?

 

Look into using Expressions. With a good set of expressions referenced into your label style, you should be able to accomplish this.

 

For example, one expression would say If SurfaceElev divided by 10 is a whole number, set label height to some postive number and to 0 if not. Next expression would say if divisible by 5 but not 10 and the next would be if divisible by 2 but not 10. I don't have time at the moment to design the expressions for you. Sorry, but next week I might be able to help if you haven't figured it out.

 

Best regards,

 

Tim


HERE is my write up on how do accomplish just that but instead of using text height, I hide negative values (won't work if you are labeling a volume surface or have negative values for your surface but here in Colorado, we don't get much below sea level).

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,714
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 7 of 10 (153 Views)

Re: Contour Lables for a specific contours

01-13-2013 10:28 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Thanks, Brian!

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,714
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 8 of 10 (151 Views)

Re: Contour Lables for a specific contours

01-13-2013 10:37 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Brian, you use the -1 for compatibility with old versions of Civil 3D that don't allow 0 text height, is that right? That eliminates using 0.00001 and getting a visible dot.

 

For users of newer versions, 2013 I am positive and I think as far back as 2011 (check it!,) you can use a return of 0 for text height in the false condition and then the label will not display. Older versions won't accept a 0 text height for a label, hence Brian's use of -1.

 

Great solution, Brian. Thanks for sharing.

 

Tim

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,850
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 9 of 10 (140 Views)

Re: Contour Lables for a specific contours

01-13-2013 01:34 PM in reply to: tcorey

tcorey wrote:

Brian, you use the -1 for compatibility with old versions of Civil 3D that don't allow 0 text height, is that right? That eliminates using 0.00001 and getting a visible dot.

 

Tim


Nope. I used it because I didn't know you could set a text height of 0 via an expression. Thanks for the tip!

 

By the way, you can't type in a height of 0 but it seems to work via expressions.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 10 of 10 (128 Views)

Re: Contour Lables for a specific contours

01-14-2013 05:45 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

Doesn't really apply here, but I found for alignment labels you can't use an expression to set the text height for a reference text componant.  So I went with the tip from your blog: making an expression to return a negative value and hiding the negatives.  Works great!


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!