AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
dkozanecki
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 1 of 9 (2,875 Views)
Accepted Solution

Contour labels not showing up

2875 Views, 8 Replies
12-20-2012 09:25 AM

This is the first time in a few years Im working with ACAD again so please excuse this question if its mindnumbing easy.

Im working with 2013 Civil 3D. I have a site with polyline contours that have assigned elevations. I created my surface from the contours but when i try to label them with elevations, nothing. I label them by contour-mulitple with interval. All that is inserted are tic marks at the designated interval. What am i doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

It sounds like you might be trying to label your original polylines. That won't work. Freeze them and set your surface style to display contours at the desired intervals. Your labels should show up where the contour label line crosses the actual surface contours.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 9 (2,871 Views)

Re: Contour labels not showing up

12-20-2012 09:36 AM in reply to: dkozanecki

Check your contour label style: is it set to display?  What layer is it set to?

 

Turn all layers on and thawed, see what happens.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Member
dkozanecki
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 3 of 9 (2,867 Views)

Re: Contour labels not showing up

12-20-2012 09:46 AM in reply to: troma

It shows that it is set to true so I assume means yes. I have to current layer set to TEXT. When I try to label a slope, the percentage of slope shows up. I don’t know if that matters. And yes, all layers are on and thawed.

*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 4 of 9 (2,853 Views)

Re: Contour labels not showing up

12-20-2012 11:00 AM in reply to: dkozanecki

can you post the file for someone to look at?

 

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Valued Contributor
mconway
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎03-28-2012
Message 5 of 9 (2,841 Views)

Re: Contour labels not showing up

12-20-2012 01:00 PM in reply to: dkozanecki

There are several places that turn off the annotations. Check your styles first and be sure that A. You're adjusting the assigned style and B. That the visibility is set to True in both the "General" and "Layout" Tabs

 

Next, I'd select the annotation object itself and look at the "Properties." Be sure that the Display Major and Minor Contour Labels are set to True.

 

Finally, Be sure that the Annotative scale of your object is available in the current selected scale to check this click on the "Lightning Scale" Icon in the lower right corner of the Status bar.  

At your service,
Mark A. Conway
Director - Applied Technology
Autodesk Certified Instructor
AutoCAD & Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite BIM Specialist
Follow me on Twitter @CADventurer





Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 456
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 6 of 9 (2,832 Views)

Re: Contour labels not showing up

12-20-2012 01:17 PM in reply to: dkozanecki

It sounds like you might be trying to label your original polylines. That won't work. Freeze them and set your surface style to display contours at the desired intervals. Your labels should show up where the contour label line crosses the actual surface contours.

Valued Contributor
C3D_TomR
Posts: 62
Registered: ‎07-01-2010
Message 7 of 9 (2,826 Views)

Re: Contour labels not showing up

12-20-2012 01:23 PM in reply to: dkozanecki

Check the text height in the major and minor contour label style as well. Make sure it's set to 0.1 for 100 Leroy text size then verify that your annotation scale is set to the scale you will be plotting.

Member
dkozanecki
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 8 of 9 (2,805 Views)

Re: Contour labels not showing up

12-21-2012 04:16 AM in reply to: KirkNoonan

Kirknoonan, you are correct. I was trying to label the original polylines. Ive done more investigation and think i figured it out. I did get the labels to show up when i turned the surface contours on. Now i just need to do some tweaking.

 

Thanks everyone for the help!!

Member
dkozanecki
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-07-2012
Message 9 of 9 (2,735 Views)

Re: Contour labels not showing up

01-15-2013 06:07 PM in reply to: troma
It shows that it is set to true so I assume means yes. I have to current layer set to TEXT. When I try to label a slope, the percentage of slope shows up. I don't know if that matters. And yes, all layers are on and thawed. Thank you, Donnie Kozanecki Donnie Kozanecki, RLA Project Manager LEED Green Associate ISA Certified Arborist Prince William County Department of Parks and Recreation 14420 Bristow Road Manassas, Va 20112 703-792-7060 Prince William County Department of Parks and Recreation
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.