AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
millermccoy
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 1 of 7 (1,430 Views)
Accepted Solution

Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

1430 Views, 6 Replies
06-20-2012 05:02 AM

Using Network Layout Tools, can you attach a pipe to a structure in a different Pipe Network?

2015 Civil 3D

Short answer, no, you can't. Pipes and structures on separate networks do not interact. One work-around I've done is to use shortcuts to import my pre-construction drainage layout into a new drawing, promote it, then change the network name to reflect the post-construction drainage layout and build my drainage changes into that model. I have pre-determined styles to separate existing pipes and structures from proposed pipes and structures. This moethod has worked well for me on several projects, some that include extensive existing drainage layouts.

Valued Mentor
ccoles
Posts: 328
Registered: ‎06-26-2007
Message 2 of 7 (1,413 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

06-20-2012 01:24 PM in reply to: millermccoy

Short answer, no, you can't. Pipes and structures on separate networks do not interact. One work-around I've done is to use shortcuts to import my pre-construction drainage layout into a new drawing, promote it, then change the network name to reflect the post-construction drainage layout and build my drainage changes into that model. I have pre-determined styles to separate existing pipes and structures from proposed pipes and structures. This moethod has worked well for me on several projects, some that include extensive existing drainage layouts.

Windows 7 64-bit
Dell Precision T5610, Dual-Xeon 2.6Ghz, 16 Gig RAM
Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,872
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 3 of 7 (1,392 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

06-21-2012 05:41 AM in reply to: millermccoy

You can merge the networks then connect, however.

 

Bill

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
millermccoy
Posts: 182
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 4 of 7 (1,389 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

06-21-2012 05:52 AM in reply to: ccoles

thanks...I'll control the different pipe runs thru styles

2015 Civil 3D
Contributor
RainierFan
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎10-25-2010
Message 5 of 7 (1,251 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

11-12-2012 02:29 PM in reply to: wfberry

What if one pipe netork is associated with one roadway alignment and the other another alignment?

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,990
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 7 (1,246 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

11-12-2012 02:54 PM in reply to: RainierFan

different parts can refer to different alignments

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Mentor
castled071049
Posts: 823
Registered: ‎11-15-2005
Message 7 of 7 (1,238 Views)

Re: Connecting pipe to different Pipe Network structure

11-12-2012 05:57 PM in reply to: RainierFan

By and large, pipes runs that connect to other pipe runs should be in the same network. For example, all the storm pipes draining to a common outlet should be in the same network. You can have each pipe run associated with it's own alignment, as Joe pointed out, but there are advantages to having them in the same network. 

 

 

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.