AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Pro
fcernst
Posts: 1,161
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 1 of 7 (631 Views)

Confirmed Defect - Medians

631 Views, 6 Replies
08-26-2013 11:09 AM

The medians crossing centerline use to work for me, now it doesn't. I sent it in to Support, and it has been confirmed as defective.

 

How many fully non-defective engineering tools do we have to work with now in Civil 3D? The amount of software defects continues to grow, and is exteremely alarming for this business owner.

 

Where is the Civil 3D leadership? 

 

Capture.JPG

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,390
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 7 (621 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

08-26-2013 11:32 AM in reply to: fcernst

I have complained about this for years.  They need to fix what doesn't work instead of adding "robust new features".

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,986
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 7 (618 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

08-26-2013 11:35 AM in reply to: TRogers
Without a doubt ..... but we all know it's not going to happen
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
RickGraham
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎10-15-2010
Message 4 of 7 (571 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

08-26-2013 02:41 PM in reply to: fcernst

don't worry. It will be a NEW feature in 2015! (Tongue-in-cheek folks, relax)

Rick

Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 5 of 7 (520 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

08-28-2013 01:22 PM in reply to: fcernst
insert mike.barkasi to tell us inroads is better, lol just joking with you mike i know you'll post in here.....
John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 6 of 7 (493 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

08-29-2013 07:15 AM in reply to: fcernst

If you really want to see the state of programming at Autodesk, check out the threads on CGTalk about how bad Autodesk is treating 3ds Max, XSI, Maya, etc. One of the guys who worked with Autodesk on Max and Civil 3D through Civil View complained about how bad a job Autodesk is doing at coding and managing their assets. 

 

Check out page 4 of this thread from a post by Stefan Didak. It's long, but a good read.

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=59&t=1118357&page=1&pp=15

 

 

This thread is an example of how poorly Autodesk codes their software. In this case, for 3ds Max. 

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=98&t=1100582&page=1&pp=15

 

This could help explain why C3D has so many issues.

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
Distinguished Contributor
mike.barkasi
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 7 of 7 (366 Views)

Re: Confirmed Defect - Medians

11-06-2013 12:17 PM in reply to: Hammer.john.j

:-) MBUILDS channel on youtube shows how to quickly model these medians.

Mike Barkasi
Bentley Civil

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.