AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 6 (208 Views)

Compute Materials Query

208 Views, 5 Replies
12-11-2012 07:53 AM

Trying to calculate volumes via compute materials and referring to screenshot: Am I correct in thinking that the soft clay volume can only be calculated correctly if the earthworks slope is extended to the base of soft clays? 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 6 (176 Views)

Re: Compute Materials Query

12-11-2012 12:39 PM in reply to: neilyj

I am thinking the shape needs to close to compute the area then vol.

 

 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,204
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 3 of 6 (168 Views)

Re: Compute Materials Query

12-11-2012 12:50 PM in reply to: jmayo

In this case your material section is going to have a vertical face on the left side, from the toe of earthworks slope down to the base of the soft clay.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 6 (159 Views)

Re: Compute Materials Query

12-11-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: sboon

How would you attempt to get this number Steve? I know a second corridor can be run along the daylight and extend down to the base but is there a way with one corridor?

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,204
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 5 of 6 (155 Views)

Re: Compute Materials Query

12-11-2012 01:37 PM in reply to: jmayo

Daylight the earthworks to the top surface, then add a conditional test on both sides.  If the daylight point is above the bottom surface then add another daylight link to finish the section.  Note - you can also reverse the whole thing and daylight to the bottom surface instead.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 6 of 6 (132 Views)

Re: Compute Materials Query

12-12-2012 12:51 AM in reply to: sboon

SBoon wrote:

In this case your material section is going to have a vertical face on the left side, from the toe of earthworks slope down to the base of the soft clay.


The vertical face I can live with but will the software "create" this itself and thus compute the "correct" volume as the Help seems to suggest?? I would normally do this via Analyse Volumes but the added complexity of several subsurfaces prompted me to try another method (the Analyse volumes would also just "cookie cut" at the edge i.e. assumes a vertical edge).

 

I'm trying to avoid having to add a new breakline to the earthworks surface based on the levels found at the soft clay horizon.

 

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!