AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
trynders
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 1 of 5 (233 Views)
Accepted Solution

Comparing Surfaces as a visual

233 Views, 4 Replies
10-09-2012 01:48 PM

Should be an easy question.  But I don't know the answer.

 

We will be doing some grading in a park with trees.  Probably maximum depth or fill of 12 inches.  The question has come up to be able to show cut and fill quantities as a visual shade of colors.  I have a way to display cut and fill ticks and it will give me the value, but that's not what they want.  I change the cut ticks to red and the fill ticks to green.  What is the best way to represent this like when you turn on slope percentages and assign different colors.  but I want like 0-2" fill to be red, 2" - 4" to be green, etc.

 

Thanks in advance.

I'm working with one now.

 

You need an Elevation Analysis performed on the surface not a slope analysis. You will also need a surface style that displays the elevation banding. Finally create a table style for the banding.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 5 (230 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

10-09-2012 02:03 PM in reply to: trynders

I'm working with one now.

 

You need an Elevation Analysis performed on the surface not a slope analysis. You will also need a surface style that displays the elevation banding. Finally create a table style for the banding.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Mentor
trynders
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 3 of 5 (216 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

10-09-2012 03:31 PM in reply to: trynders

Thanks.  I'll be trying it soon.

Mentor
trynders
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 4 of 5 (179 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

10-31-2012 07:13 AM in reply to: trynders

John,

Thanks for the advice.  It's working well.  How do I get the cut and fill quantities to be placed in the drawing instead of just the panarama window.?  Is that a table you created?  Is it dynamic?

 

Thanks,

T

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,002
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 5 (164 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

11-01-2012 09:55 AM in reply to: trynders

Select the surface, on the Ribbon click the Tables button. Follow the prompts on the command line to make a dynamic elevation table.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!