AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
trynders
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 1 of 5 (238 Views)
Accepted Solution

Comparing Surfaces as a visual

238 Views, 4 Replies
10-09-2012 01:48 PM

Should be an easy question.  But I don't know the answer.

 

We will be doing some grading in a park with trees.  Probably maximum depth or fill of 12 inches.  The question has come up to be able to show cut and fill quantities as a visual shade of colors.  I have a way to display cut and fill ticks and it will give me the value, but that's not what they want.  I change the cut ticks to red and the fill ticks to green.  What is the best way to represent this like when you turn on slope percentages and assign different colors.  but I want like 0-2" fill to be red, 2" - 4" to be green, etc.

 

Thanks in advance.

I'm working with one now.

 

You need an Elevation Analysis performed on the surface not a slope analysis. You will also need a surface style that displays the elevation banding. Finally create a table style for the banding.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 5 (235 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

10-09-2012 02:03 PM in reply to: trynders

I'm working with one now.

 

You need an Elevation Analysis performed on the surface not a slope analysis. You will also need a surface style that displays the elevation banding. Finally create a table style for the banding.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Mentor
trynders
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 3 of 5 (221 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

10-09-2012 03:31 PM in reply to: trynders

Thanks.  I'll be trying it soon.

Mentor
trynders
Posts: 470
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 4 of 5 (184 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

10-31-2012 07:13 AM in reply to: trynders

John,

Thanks for the advice.  It's working well.  How do I get the cut and fill quantities to be placed in the drawing instead of just the panarama window.?  Is that a table you created?  Is it dynamic?

 

Thanks,

T

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 3,030
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 5 (169 Views)

Re: Comparing Surfaces as a visual

11-01-2012 09:55 AM in reply to: trynders

Select the surface, on the Ribbon click the Tables button. Follow the prompts on the command line to make a dynamic elevation table.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.