AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
tommcgtx
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎01-22-2010
Message 1 of 15 (2,197 Views)

Communication Center

2197 Views, 14 Replies
10-09-2012 09:54 AM

Hi, I just upgraded from Civil 3D 2012 to 2013. I had a little "dish" icon for the communication center, and liked to veiw RSS feeds here. My 2013 does not have it, and searching through the help, it seems to me that it should be available. Is there a setting or something to turn it on or off?

Valued Contributor
kylepeterson9068
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-30-2007
Message 2 of 15 (2,132 Views)

Re: Communication Center

01-24-2013 06:49 AM in reply to: tommcgtx

Same here late to upgrade to 2013. InfoCenter and Communication Center not as it was in 2012.

Found reference in help but can't find setting to turn on. Did check balloon notifications in options.


Checked my profile on subscription, did not see a setting there either.

 

Help does say "NoteSubscription Center is not available in all products or locations."

 

Is the USA one of the not available locations?

 

 

Valued Contributor
kylepeterson9068
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-30-2007
Message 3 of 15 (2,121 Views)

Re: Communication Center

01-24-2013 08:44 AM in reply to: kylepeterson9068

I reversed the steps from How to Disable Communication Center

 

CAD Manager Control Utility made the registry changes and after several restarts still no communication center.

 

Verified that I had full control with read /write access to C3D and CAD Mgr.

Win 7 64bit

Valued Contributor
kylepeterson9068
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-30-2007
Message 4 of 15 (2,090 Views)

Re: Communication Center

01-25-2013 12:40 PM in reply to: kylepeterson9068

Tricky, but I figured it out.

 

Up and functioning as I like it.

Even got all my feed configurations from 2012 migrated.

 

Thanks

Valued Contributor
tommcgtx
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎01-22-2010
Message 5 of 15 (2,085 Views)

Re: Communication Center

01-25-2013 12:41 PM in reply to: kylepeterson9068
I tried, but the problem for me is I don't have administrative privileges, and the IT folks can't be bothered
Valued Contributor
kylepeterson9068
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-30-2007
Message 6 of 15 (2,082 Views)

Re: Communication Center

01-25-2013 12:48 PM in reply to: tommcgtx

Sorry to hear that. What I did involves making a registry edit.

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,385
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 7 of 15 (2,075 Views)

Re: Communication Center

01-25-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: kylepeterson9068

Would you care to share the steps you took?

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Valued Contributor
kylepeterson9068
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎10-30-2007
Message 8 of 15 (2,069 Views)

Re: Communication Center

01-25-2013 01:58 PM in reply to: Jeff_M

No problem.

 

I found through searching this forum that many wanted to disable Communication Center and there was one expert elite that had many posts on the registry edits, God bless him.

 

There are separate InfoCenter and Communication Center registry keys involved.

 

Steps to enable Communication Center

 

1)      Regedit -(back up registry before continuing)

            HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Autodesk\AutoCAD\R19.0\ACAD- B000:409\CadManagerControl\Infocenter

           

            InfoCenterStyle - Change 0 to 1  (0 was the default setting ootb)

2)      With all Autodesk products closed use CAD Manager Control Utility select product to modify, AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 from the drop down list at the top utility control box.

On InfoCenter tab make desired setting selections. Click apply then close the utility. I restarted my system.

The CAD Manager Control Utility makes the registry edits necessary to enable Communication Center.

 

3)      To migrate RSS feed configuration from a another working Communication, navigate to "C:\Users\Admin\AppData\Local\Autodesk\C3D 2013\enu\Support\ " create new folder move the file infocenter.xml to the new folder. Copy  infocenter.xml file from a version that has desired settings and work RSS feeds.

This is a workaround that is successful for me on my system.

 

This modifies the style of InfoCenter and enable Communication Center.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,385
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 9 of 15 (2,061 Views)

Re: Communication Center

01-25-2013 02:12 PM in reply to: kylepeterson9068

Thank you!

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
Distinguished Mentor
rl_jackson
Posts: 757
Registered: ‎01-20-2008
Message 10 of 15 (2,028 Views)

Re: Communication Center

01-26-2013 03:53 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

Where would I get the CAD Manager Utility, I recently installed 2013, and can not seem to find it. I have run an install to check for the tool and check subscription.

 

Thanks,

C3D12-13
Win7x64 6gb
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.