AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,910
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 1 of 9 (246 Views)

Command line history oddity

246 Views, 8 Replies
01-29-2014 12:59 PM

My command line history is aligned to the right rather than left - any ideas how to get it back?

 

Command Line History oddity.jpg

 

 

Thanks

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,100
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: Command line history oddity

01-29-2014 01:36 PM in reply to: neilyj

I think there must be a way. I've even seen center justified. But I haven't been able to locate a setting or variable to do this. Unless it's inheriting a Windows setting.

 

Allen

Valued Contributor
architectOfIdeas
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎08-10-2007
Message 3 of 9 (189 Views)

Re: Command line history oddity

02-13-2014 08:55 PM in reply to: neilyj

I'm experiencing this as well with vanilla AutoCAD 2014 on Windows 8.1. Can't find any options or system variables that would control this... It doesn't happen in my Civil 3D or Map 3D though! 

Contributor
m4tts1m
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-31-2007
Message 4 of 9 (147 Views)

Re: Command line history oddity

04-10-2014 08:17 AM in reply to: neilyj

This is infuriating. This has at least two user experience flaws:

 

1. Split attention, between command prompt and it's history

2. Shifting target, command history changes position based on the length of the line of text (ie, a non-relevant artifact)

 

 

Valued Contributor
architectOfIdeas
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎08-10-2007
Message 5 of 9 (142 Views)

Re: Command line history oddity

04-10-2014 08:22 AM in reply to: m4tts1m

Well said.

Contributor
m4tts1m
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-31-2007
Message 6 of 9 (139 Views)

Re: Command line history oddity

04-10-2014 08:36 AM in reply to: architectOfIdeas

For now, i've just dragged-up the height of the command-line.
This effectively reverts back to classic style, permanently showing lines of command history, but at least it's left justified!! <sigh-of-relief>

Alternatively, if folks really want the fancy fade-out history, then snap the command palette to the right side of your screen, This will help your eye find the alignment edge. A subtle improvement, but better than having it float aimlessly in the middle of a viewport.

Valued Contributor
architectOfIdeas
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎08-10-2007
Message 7 of 9 (134 Views)

Re: Command line history oddity

04-10-2014 08:42 AM in reply to: m4tts1m

can you post a screenshot?

Contributor
m4tts1m
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎05-31-2007
Message 8 of 9 (130 Views)

Re: Command line history oddity

04-10-2014 09:03 AM in reply to: neilyj

acad-commandline-screenshot.png

Valued Contributor
architectOfIdeas
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎08-10-2007
Message 9 of 9 (125 Views)

Re: Command line history oddity

04-10-2014 09:08 AM in reply to: m4tts1m

Thanks for posting these!

 

I didn't realize you could drag the top of the frame to get the classic form factor back!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!