AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
cwrightbbvpc
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 1 of 6 (786 Views)

cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

786 Views, 5 Replies
01-09-2012 02:00 PM

Working in 2012 dwg. When I export to autocad 2010, only one cogo point is converted to a block and shows up in the drawing.

New Member
jzivoder
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2010
Message 2 of 6 (751 Views)

Re: cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

01-12-2012 07:56 AM in reply to: cwrightbbvpc

Yes, I am having the same issue.  Using Civil 2010, exporting to ACAD 2007.  It worked for me one time, where it converted all cogo points to blocks.  99 other times it is converting either just one point, or none at all.  The one time it did work, I do not recall doing anything different. 

New Member
jzivoder
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-09-2010
Message 3 of 6 (744 Views)

Re: cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

01-12-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: jzivoder

Ok, well its not an official fix by any means, but before I exported the drawing, I did and audit and a purge command (didn't actually purge anything), then saved it. It worked.. 

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,177
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 6 (739 Views)

Re: cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

01-12-2012 08:55 AM in reply to: cwrightbbvpc

Another option would be to do it manually before the export. On the ribbon under points it's Create Blocks from COGO Points. On the command line it's _AeccConvertPointsToSdskPoints. This creates point blocks without replacing the Civil 3D points.

 

Allen

Member
cwrightbbvpc
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 5 of 6 (731 Views)

Re: cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

01-12-2012 09:41 AM in reply to: cwrightbbvpc

The issue with that is we use point styles and point labels to show the necessary information in the drawing such as symbols and elevations. The procedure that seems to work all the time is wblocking the dwg, exploding the features and then exporting to an earlier version.  Can anyone tell me if this would create a problem down the road?

*Expert Elite*
LeafRiders
Posts: 348
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
Message 6 of 6 (558 Views)

Re: cogo points do not convert when exporting to autocad

10-25-2012 09:17 AM in reply to: cwrightbbvpc

Creating a block from COGO point command doesn't work as it should. It should take the exact point style and label style and create a block that is named. On this end I get some random looking block with point number, description and elevation with nothing but a node showing for the point itself.

 

I find that I need to explode all cogo points to create blocks (with a U# block name). Copy all and save to a new drawing.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.