AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 1 of 7 (919 Views)

Close a feature line?

919 Views, 6 Replies
03-16-2012 04:36 AM

Hi,

I'm probably being dim or looking too hard, but how do you close an existing feature line? For a polyline you just toggle the 'closed' drop down or type C when editing.

Cheers,

Kevin

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,187
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 7 (917 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

03-16-2012 05:09 AM in reply to: ksorsby

If it is a single FL It will close itself. Otherwise, use the join command on the modify palette

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
ksorsby
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎07-07-2006
Message 3 of 7 (907 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

03-16-2012 06:31 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Thanks Joe. The join command doesn't appear to close them unless you draw a 3d poly in between the ends yourself and join them to that, or am I doing it wrong?

With a couple of hundred of non-closed features in my drawing, I was hoping to avoid having to draw the lines and join the ends up manually. This is a function that polylines have already - draw 3 edges of a square, C for close and it closes the end for you.

Is this another function that has been bizarrely missed out? :smileywink:

 

Kevin

 

 

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,634
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 7 (833 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

10-01-2012 12:34 PM in reply to: ksorsby

ksorsby wrote:

Thanks Joe. The join command doesn't appear to close them unless you draw a 3d poly in between the ends yourself and join them to that, or am I doing it wrong?

With a couple of hundred of non-closed features in my drawing, I was hoping to avoid having to draw the lines and join the ends up manually. This is a function that polylines have already - draw 3 edges of a square, C for close and it closes the end for you.

Is this another function that has been bizarrely missed out? :smileywink:

 

Kevin

 

 


Yea, I know this is old - was there ever an answer that worked for this situation?

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,176
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 7 (826 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

10-01-2012 01:05 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

There's only 2 methods I see and they both involve closed polylines. The first is that if you need a closed Featureline you draw a 3Dpolyline, close it and create a Featureline from it. If you already have a bunch of Featurelines you need to close you'd have to explode them to polylines, close them and then create new Featurelines from them. That would be a problem if they're already part of a Surface or being used as a target.

 

If you snap to the beginning point while drawing the Featureline the command will end. But you'll end up with n+1 points in the Featurelines. IOW 1 more points than you should have. For a square that would be 5.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,187
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 7 (822 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

10-01-2012 01:19 PM in reply to: ksorsby

When I first answered this I did not realize you wanted to close a gap. When I draw another FL betwen the gap and joint it becomes closed.

 

But this is not helpful with hundreds of gaps. You can explode the FL's >> pedit>> multiple>>> close, and then turn back to FL

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,634
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (785 Views)

Re: Close a feature line?

10-02-2012 05:35 AM in reply to: ksorsby

Wow. A missing, simple feature that would probably take a C3D programmer 15 minutes to fix add. 

Thanks for the confirmation.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.