AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Post 11 of 24

Re: Civl 3D Polylines

05-31-2012 08:55 AM in reply to: ctbailey

It would not use the contours to create a surface.

Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Post 12 of 24

Re: Civil 3D Polylines

05-31-2012 08:56 AM in reply to: shunter62

I have used a work-around. 

Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Post 13 of 24

Re: Civl 3D Polylines

05-31-2012 09:00 AM in reply to: jmayo

Thank you. He uses SurvCadd, which I used to use also. I think they will all write XML files. I just find Civil 3D to be so much more difficult than either SurvCadd, LDD or even EaglePoint, all of which I have used. I don't see why something that should be straightforward has become so complicated.

Valued Contributor
50 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Post 14 of 24

Civl 3D Polylines

05-31-2012 10:09 AM in reply to: lex123456
You are correct, Civil 3D does not accept LDD contours as a surface. It's better to ask for the original DTM or build your own surface/contours with the points and any breaklines you can devise. Susan H
*Expert Elite*
3,044 Posts
245 Kudos
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Post 15 of 24

Re: Civl 3D Polylines

05-31-2012 10:29 AM in reply to: shunter62

Explode aeccontour objects once and polylines will remain.

 

The best bet is still to get the xml. Look at the time it would have saved the OP. The design could have been in the workings a minute after the files were sent.

 

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Post 16 of 24

Re: Civl 3D Polylines

05-31-2012 10:57 AM in reply to: shunter62

Can you tell me if there is a way to enter stuff into the profile manually by station and elevation?

Valued Mentor
778 Posts
67 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Post 17 of 24

Re: Civl 3D Polylines

05-31-2012 12:20 PM in reply to: lex123456

lex123456 wrote:

Thank you. He uses SurvCadd, which I used to use also. I think they will all write XML files. I just find Civil 3D to be so much more difficult than either SurvCadd, LDD or even EaglePoint, all of which I have used. I don't see why something that should be straightforward has become so complicated.


LDD is just as complicated as C3D.  It's just different.  Until you've figured out that C3D is not LDD or any of those other packages, you will be disappointed.

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Post 18 of 24

Re: Civl 3D Polylines

05-31-2012 12:24 PM in reply to: engrtech

Believe me, I have figured out that it isn't like the others. I just don't think I like it.

*Expert Elite*
2,804 Posts
288 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Post 19 of 24

Re: Civl 3D Polylines

06-01-2012 07:59 AM in reply to: lex123456
You can create a design profile by station and elevation using the tabular editor; a button within the design profile toolbar.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-30-2012
Post 20 of 24

Re: Civl 3D Polylines

06-01-2012 08:14 AM in reply to: mathewk

Good to know. Thank you.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!