AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
lsssurvey
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 1 of 6 (411 Views)
Accepted Solution

Civil3D freezes if multi-tasking on startup

411 Views, 5 Replies
03-28-2011 08:38 AM

This is a 2nd post. When trying to post a message while using Explorer 9, it is empty. Anybody else have this issue? Anyway, I've switched to compatability mode to see if that helps.

 

I have this issue with 2 installations of Civil3D 2011-64 bit. I have 2 monitors. When first starting up, while Civil3D is loading, if I move to the other monitor and do any activity with the mouse, once civil3D is loaded, it is frozen. I can't do anything with it and need to use Task Manager to close it. If I just leave the mouse alone until Civil3D completely loads, then I'm fine. Just a minor annoyance, but have never experienced it with earlier versions.

 

Tom

Hi Tom,

 

Once that happens see if you can go to Task Manager and kill WSCommCntr<number>.exe Process. See if that helps.

Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 780
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 2 of 6 (405 Views)

Re: Civil3D freezes if multi-tasking on startup

03-28-2011 09:28 AM in reply to: lsssurvey

Hi Tom,

 

Once that happens see if you can go to Task Manager and kill WSCommCntr<number>.exe Process. See if that helps.



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,183
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 6 (398 Views)

Re: Civil3D freezes if multi-tasking on startup

03-28-2011 09:33 AM in reply to: lsssurvey

I don't have IE9. But I've seen others have the same issue with blank posts when using it.

 

Allen

Active Contributor
lsssurvey
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
Message 4 of 6 (381 Views)

Re: Civil3D freezes if multi-tasking on startup

03-28-2011 11:36 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

I will give that a try next time. Thanks.

 

Tom

Employee
hgohel
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 5 of 6 (378 Views)

Re: Civil3D freezes if multi-tasking on startup

03-28-2011 11:40 AM in reply to: lsssurvey

 


lsssurvey wrote:

 

...once civil3D is loaded, it is frozen. I can't do anything with it and need to use Task Manager to close it.

 

Tom


Once you bring up Task Manager, try "Switch to" Civil 3D task rather than killing it.  Does it return focus to the application?  I've seen that work in a particular case with C3D 2011, and it may work for you.

 

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
New Member
vanessa
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-27-2010
Message 6 of 6 (193 Views)

Re: Civil3D freezes if multi-tasking on startup

11-09-2012 06:42 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

I have been having the same issue with Civil 3D 2011 and Revit 2012, and this worked.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.