AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
mtecacad
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 1 of 21 (4,904 Views)
Accepted Solution

Civil3d 2012 Turn off Layout Tools Contextual Tab

4904 Views, 20 Replies
05-03-2011 09:37 PM

How do I disable the layout Tools Contextual tab in Civile3d 2012 so that is does not become active every time I change to Paper Space. I would like the ribbon to stay focused on the HOME tab when in paper space.

Thanks Andrew.

 

I had got that far but didn't want to remove the tab, just wanted to stop it from being selected when changing to paper space (ie have it like a standrd ribbon tab). I tried draging it to the standard ribbon panel but it wouldn't let me.  But not having it there at all is better than having it. Thankyou.

You can do this without removing them by going through the same process, but instead of removing the Contextual Layout Tabs item, select it and then in the Properties on the right side of the window change Contextual Display Type from "Full" to "Merged".


This will add the various items to the end of whatever ribbon you are already on instead of switching to a whole new ribbon.

Distinguished Mentor
andrewpuller3811
Posts: 793
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
Message 2 of 21 (4,886 Views)

Re: Civil3d 2012 Turn off Layout Tools Contextual Tab

05-04-2011 05:44 AM in reply to: mtecacad

You'll have to go into the CUI editor and remove the Contextual Layout Tools tab from the Contextual Tab States - Layout Tools node.

 

1. Type "cui" in the command line of civil 3d

2. In the top left pane on the "Customize" tab, expand the "Partial Customization Files" node by clicking on the plus sign.

3. Expand the "ACAD" node

4. Expand the "Ribbon" node

5. Expand the "Contextual Tab States" node

6. Scroll down and find and expand the "Layout Tools" node.

7. Select the "Contextual Layout Tools" item, right click and select remove.

8. Click the "Save all customization files button" - the disk icon at the top.

9. Click the "OK" button.

 

If this fixed your issue, click on "Accept as Solution"

Andrew Puller
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
Intel core i7 2600 @ 3.40 GHz with 16GB Ram
Civil 3d 2013 64bit
Member
mtecacad
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 3 of 21 (4,865 Views)

Re: Civil3d 2012 Turn off Layout Tools Contextual Tab

05-04-2011 01:43 PM in reply to: andrewpuller3811

Thanks Andrew.

 

I had got that far but didn't want to remove the tab, just wanted to stop it from being selected when changing to paper space (ie have it like a standrd ribbon tab). I tried draging it to the standard ribbon panel but it wouldn't let me.  But not having it there at all is better than having it. Thankyou.

Valued Contributor
justind
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 4 of 21 (4,850 Views)

Re: Civil3d 2012 Turn off Layout Tools Contextual Tab

05-04-2011 03:01 PM in reply to: mtecacad

You can do this without removing them by going through the same process, but instead of removing the Contextual Layout Tabs item, select it and then in the Properties on the right side of the window change Contextual Display Type from "Full" to "Merged".


This will add the various items to the end of whatever ribbon you are already on instead of switching to a whole new ribbon.

Distinguished Contributor
mjung
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎09-14-2006
Message 5 of 21 (4,751 Views)

Re: Civil3d 2012 Turn off Layout Tools Contextual Tab

05-26-2011 03:01 PM in reply to: mtecacad

There has got to be a better way to do this. The change from "Full" to "Merged" somewhat worked. This just added the "Layout Tools" to the end of every Tab.

 

I don't want to remove it but most of the items on the Tab can be found elswhere. I guess removing it won't cause to much grief.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Civil 3D 2015
Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
Intel Xeon W5580 @3.20GHz
12gig RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,793
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 6 of 21 (4,723 Views)

Re: Civil3d 2012 Turn off Layout Tools Contextual Tab

05-27-2011 07:19 AM in reply to: mtecacad
It won't cause any grief since you don't like it and you're not using it. If you want it back in the future the CUI can easily be reset.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Contributor
admin
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Message 7 of 21 (4,685 Views)

Re: Civil3d 2012 Turn off Layout Tools Contextual Tab

06-01-2011 07:45 AM in reply to: mtecacad

Our template is saved with layout view showing (by request of our drafters). Every time we open Civil3D or perform a QNEW we are faced with the layout tools instead of the Home tab. It is very disorienting.

Distinguished Contributor
mjung
Posts: 136
Registered: ‎09-14-2006
Message 8 of 21 (4,666 Views)

Re: Civil3d 2012 Turn off Layout Tools Contextual Tab

06-01-2011 10:46 AM in reply to: mtecacad

The ribbon is controled via the cui, not a dwg template. The layout tab can be removed on your workstation if you don't want it. All the commands shown on the layout tab can be found elsewhere and are not needed each time you switch to paper space. Not sure what Autodesk was thinking on this one...  

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Civil 3D 2015
Windows 7 Pro (64bit)
Intel Xeon W5580 @3.20GHz
12gig RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 600
Contributor
admin
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-18-2008
Message 9 of 21 (4,655 Views)

Re: Civil3d 2012 Turn off Layout Tools Contextual Tab

06-01-2011 12:17 PM in reply to: mjung

Yeah I know I can remove the ribbon tab. The template doesn't control the ribbon, but the fact that the template opens up to a layout (rather than model space) puts the ribbon into the layout mode by default, until the CUI is modified as mentioned above.

Member
breichel1
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 10 of 21 (4,494 Views)

Re: Civil3d 2012 Turn off Layout Tools Contextual Tab

07-13-2011 02:29 PM in reply to: admin

This worked for me with the Layout Tools. How about doing this with other ribbon items that do not allow you to change from full to merged? For instance, Point Selected in the CUI. I want to be able to keep the Home tab in focus so that I can see the Layer Manager tab and manipulate the layers that points are in. This is just an example. I would like to modify alot of the ribbon items in this fasion. Thanks. 

B. Reichel

Windows XP - 32bit
Nvidia NVS 285
Core 2 Duo @ 3.00 GHz
4 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.