AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
leemullon6129
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
Message 1 of 4 (1,130 Views)
Accepted Solution

Civil View - Visualization of corridors with multiple baselines or intersections

1130 Views, 3 Replies
08-28-2012 06:02 AM

I created a simple roundabout in Civil3D with the intent on visualizing the corridor in 3DS Max Design using the Civil View plugin. The corridor rendered complete in Civil 3D, but there are large corridor gaps in Civil View. They all appear to be at the location of corridor baseline boundaries. Obviously this is a non-starter, as 3DS Max is supposed to improve the visual quality, not reduce. Does anyone have any suggestions?

 

Attached are some sample images of the roundabout in Civil3D and in 3DS Max Design.

 

I am using Civil 3D 2012 and 3DS Max Design 2012.

I've experienced a similar incident at an intersection. I increased the frequency in my corridor for the items not importing correctly and when I reimported the model the gaps where gone. I'm not sure if this will solve your issue but it did work for me. Good luck.

 

Sam

Valued Mentor
engrtech
Posts: 758
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
Message 2 of 4 (1,123 Views)

Re: Civil View - Visualization of corridors with multiple baselines or intersect

08-28-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: leemullon6129

leemullon6129 wrote:

I created a simple roundabout in Civil3D with the intent on visualizing the corridor in 3DS Max Design using the Civil View plugin. The corridor rendered complete in Civil 3D, but there are large corridor gaps in Civil View. They all appear to be at the location of corridor baseline boundaries. Obviously this is a non-starter, as 3DS Max is supposed to improve the visual quality, not reduce. Does anyone have any suggestions?

 

Attached are some sample images of the roundabout in Civil3D and in 3DS Max Design.

 

I am using Civil 3D 2012 and 3DS Max Design 2012.


Welcome to the wonderful world of Autodesk products that are compatible, yet not really in reality.  The only way I know of to fix things like that is to just edit them in Max using Max's tools.  You'll lose your "live" connection to the C3D drawing, though.

IDSP 2015
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
8GB RAM
Member
shooz1
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-17-2010
Message 3 of 4 (1,011 Views)

Re: Civil View - Visualization of corridors with multiple baselines or intersect

09-17-2012 09:51 AM in reply to: leemullon6129

I've experienced a similar incident at an intersection. I increased the frequency in my corridor for the items not importing correctly and when I reimported the model the gaps where gone. I'm not sure if this will solve your issue but it did work for me. Good luck.

 

Sam

Active Member
dcrnila
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-28-2011
Message 4 of 4 (750 Views)

Re: Civil View - Visualization of corridors with multiple baselines or intersect

01-21-2013 03:02 AM in reply to: shooz1

I don' know if it is related, but I noticed that in version 2013 export to Civil View has a bug. First polygon after corridor hidden region (which is mostly in place of intersections) is not exported. I have a file with 16 intersections and after each of them there is no first polygon in non-hidden region in Civil View. In Civil 3D everything looks fine.

Can anyone suggest the best workaround, please?

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!