AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Mentor
deltacoolguy
Message 1 of 7 (1,496 Views)

Civil 3D vs Carlson comparison?

1496 Views, 6 Replies
12-07-2012 11:27 PM

I have been offered a position with a company.  They tried Civil 3D and didn't care for it, and went with Carlson instead.

My experience is with AutoCAD exclusively.  I have many years experience with Land Desktop, and the last two years with Civil 3D.  They feel that, with my LD experience, I should be able to learn and adapt to Carlson pretty quickly.  They say Carlson is very LD-like.  I don't necessarily doubt this, but I would like to get kind of a "heads up" for what some of the differences and similarities are.  (I have not accepted the position yet, but probably will)

In searching I found this thread... http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Carlson-Vs-3D/m-p/2514071/highlight/true#M109233

...and it has a great wealth of information, but it is also 3.5 years old.  A lot can change in 3 years.  Is the info contained in that thread still pretty accurate?  Or, has the gap narrowed?  Changed in any way?

Thanks.

Windows 7-64
8GB RAM
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Message 2 of 7 (1,472 Views)

Re: Civil 3D vs Carlson comparison?

12-08-2012 04:42 AM in reply to: deltacoolguy

Last summer I worked at a survey firm that used Carlson, after 3 months I quit because of it. Now on Carlson defense it was a 2004 version of Carlson and a locked version at that, no way to run lisp or create macros. After using current versions of Civil3D and Map3D there was no way to going back to an outdated software and being happy. So I suggect before you take the position find out what version of Carlson they use, if you are used to all the new features in C3D and AutoCAD you may have a hard time adjusting as well.

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Message 3 of 7 (1,459 Views)

12-08-2012 08:30 AM in reply to: deltacoolguy