AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
mooremt1
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎12-15-2005
Message 1 of 14 (2,045 Views)

Civil 3D Table Settings (ROW HEIGHT)

2045 Views, 13 Replies
01-18-2006 01:47 PM
Hey Everybody I searched all these boards and found a couple posts on this but no answers. Is there a way to change the row height in Civil 3D Created Tables (What I'm working with is Parcel Line and Curve Tables). I don't see any options in the styles or table properties menus and changing it in the general autocad tablestyles menu does nothing. Thanks for the help!

Matt Moore
Racey Engineering, PLLC
C3D SP2
Distinguished Contributor
MMccall
Posts: 1,177
Registered: ‎06-27-2005
Message 2 of 14 (2,047 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Table Settings (ROW HEIGHT)

01-18-2006 02:01 PM in reply to: mooremt1
It looks like the initial cell height is derived from the text height and cell margin settings in the table style. After creating the table you can modify individual cells as you require but if you 'update' the table it will revert back to the settings of the style.
Valued Contributor
mooremt1
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎12-15-2005
Message 3 of 14 (2,047 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Table Settings (ROW HEIGHT)

01-31-2006 01:31 PM in reply to: mooremt1
Sorry it took so long to respond, I'm still not able to change the heights of the tables I am making. I changed the style in the TABLESTYLE menu then made tables and the style wasn't reflected in my settings. There are no options to change the table style in the SETTINGS tab of TOOLSPACE. Any ideas of what I might be doing wrong?

Matt Moore
Racey Engineering, PLLC
Distinguished Contributor
MMccall
Posts: 1,177
Registered: ‎06-27-2005
Message 4 of 14 (2,048 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Table Settings (ROW HEIGHT)

02-01-2006 12:31 PM in reply to: mooremt1
You should be able to edit the cell margin settings in the table style and then 'update' the table.

You can also edit the cell row and column sizes with grips on the table and/or cell.

There is also a rt. click option to make all the rows or columns equal in size to the rest of the table.
Valued Contributor
mooremt1
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎12-15-2005
Message 5 of 14 (2,049 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Table Settings (ROW HEIGHT)

02-27-2006 06:48 AM in reply to: mooremt1
I can change them in the table style but there is no option to 'update' the table when it is a Civil 3D object. Also there is no grip edits on a table that is a Civil 3D object. I would assume this is just a missing feature in the Table Styles of Civil 3D. Maybe they'll fix it in 2007.

Matt
Contributor
fautodesk
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
Message 6 of 14 (1,525 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Table Settings (ROW HEIGHT)

09-19-2012 08:35 AM in reply to: mooremt1

I can certainly sympathize with this problem. It has been an ongoing problem since 2006 and still hasn't been fixed that I am aware of. The question being asked is directly related to Parcel Line Tables. Not generic tables where you input the information but the ones generated when you select Line/Curves or Parcels/ Add Tables. It does appear as though the texh heighth does govern the margins as you can see by the attached PDF. The margins are the same heighth as the text. It makes my line tables so obnoxiously huge where I end up exploding them just so I can make them fit on my page. Is there still no fix for this???

Active Member
gleep
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-15-2008
Message 7 of 14 (1,395 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Table Settings (ROW HEIGHT)

12-11-2012 08:37 AM in reply to: fautodesk

Hello folks,

 

Making the switch to Civil 2012 from Land Desktop and a) am making so much use of this board I thought I'd go ahead and join, and b) trying to maintain a positive attitude. Some days the positive attitude is difficult.

 

Any solutions to the Parcel Table ROW HEIGHT issue yet? I've poked around and the consensus seems to be explode the tables and modify them manually. There is just way too much space for our tastes.

 

Thanks in advance.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,117
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 8 of 14 (1,384 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Table Settings (ROW HEIGHT)

12-11-2012 11:20 AM in reply to: gleep

First - welcome to the board.

 

Bad news I'm afraid.  Despite regular complaints about this issue all the way back to the first version of Civil3d it still has not been addressed.

Active Member
gleep
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-15-2008
Message 9 of 14 (1,380 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Table Settings (ROW HEIGHT)

12-11-2012 11:48 AM in reply to: mooremt1

Thanks, Steve.

 

The longer I compu-draft the more I feel the software dictating how our plans look. I mean, I'm all about standards and uniformity across company departments, but geez, do all of our plans have to look the same? I like my line tables with less space in the rows. Dammit. Maybe 2014.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,117
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 10 of 14 (1,377 Views)

Appropriate meme.....

12-11-2012 11:55 AM in reply to: gleep

28237908.jpg

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.