AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
rrl642
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎03-04-2007
Message 1 of 18 (1,774 Views)

Civil 3D Service Pack 2.1 HEADS UP!!!!

1774 Views, 17 Replies
08-31-2012 08:16 AM

Had a fatal error and sent the report to Autodesk which I don't usually do because I've never heard a response.....anyways the report comes back that I need service pack 2.1.

 

So I download and install the service pack, well now certain profiles which include pipe networks are skewed as if the alignment has moved thousands of feet, the grid is stretched off to the side even though I did nothing to the profile stationing, or the alignment stationing, just went in to change a profile label.

 

I asked others in the office to open the same drawing I was working in and they do not see the profile doing this stretch.

I turned the computer settings back a few days to allow for un-install of the service pack, civil 3D didn't like that either and won't open so had to do a total un-install and re-install.

 

Now when I open the drawing the profile is fine..........

 

will send a back charge to Autodesk for beta testing the service pack

 

 

New Member
fa_michaelena
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 18 (1,767 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Service Pack 2.1 HEADS UP!!!!

08-31-2012 08:43 AM in reply to: rrl642

Hi - I had fatal issue with the service pack as well. All of my hydrographs for swm disappeared upon install. I have contacted Autodesk and they said they are working on it. Wasted a half of day or more of my time doing a install, trouble shoot then unistall and reinstall. It is ridculous. This was a few months ago and I have heard nothing since. 

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,786
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 18 (1,747 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Service Pack 2.1 HEADS UP!!!!

08-31-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: fa_michaelena

Presume you mean Hotfix 2??

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/C3D-2013-Hotfix-2-released/td-p/3599766

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 569
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 4 of 18 (1,733 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Service Pack 2.1 HEADS UP!!!!

08-31-2012 10:02 AM in reply to: rrl642

I had issues with this as well after I installed the Hotfix and rebooted.  I had to repair the install, not reinstall, thank goodness.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
Employee
hgohel
Posts: 267
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 5 of 18 (1,726 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Service Pack 2.1 HEADS UP!!!!

08-31-2012 10:24 AM in reply to: rrl642

It would be very helpful if everyone in this thread could confirm if they are writing about C3D 2012 and Update 2.1 and not about any other C3D release/update/hotfix?

 

To the OP: Would you be able to provide us a data set we can use to reproduce the profile/pipe networks problem you mentioned with C3D 2012 Update 2.1?

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 569
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 6 of 18 (1,715 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Service Pack 2.1 HEADS UP!!!!

08-31-2012 10:53 AM in reply to: rrl642

Yes, sorry, C3D 2012 SP 2.1.  I had issues right after the install & reboot.  The app failed to launch.  A repair fixed it.

 

I also had an issue with C3D 2013 Hotfix 2 doing the same thing.  A repair fixed that as well.  

 

I have both installed on my workstaton, no other versions.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 7 of 18 (1,679 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Service Pack 2.1 HEADS UP!!!!

08-31-2012 12:13 PM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

I have an active case with Subscription Support because of a similar issue, except that mine is related to corridor feature lines that display differently after SP 2.1 is installed.

 

I posted in this thread about seeing the problem in 2013 first, but it has now appeared in 2012 after installation of SP2.1.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/2013-bug-corridor-feature-lines/td-p/3417687

 

The two screenshots show the same drawing as it appears upon opening - no redraw, regen, corridor rebuild or anthing else.  These are from the same computer.  The only difference is that the second view is after installing the SP.  Notice the feature lines that skip across from one corridor section to another one on the alignment.

 

Joel 01.png

 

 

Joel 02.png

Member
katayatz
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-04-2012
Message 8 of 18 (1,587 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Service Pack 2.1 HEADS UP!!!!

09-04-2012 09:09 AM in reply to: rrl642

We have also had major errors since installing this Pack including fatal errors, locking up, changed colors of alignments, etc. It is very frustrating and repairing the Pack has not worked.  So here we sit with our hands up, hmm... reinstall Autocad or wait and see if they come out with a fix... either way we just lost a lot of time... Thanks for keeping us proficient! :catmad:

Spoiler
 
Distinguished Contributor
bruce.jordan
Posts: 254
Registered: ‎05-12-2005
Message 9 of 18 (1,425 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Service Pack 2.1 HEADS UP!!!!

09-18-2012 08:48 AM in reply to: rrl642

I'm getting ready to test SP2.1 and was wondering if everyone is still having the issues pointed out in this thread?

Anything been resolved?

 

-Bruce

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 10 of 18 (1,416 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Service Pack 2.1 HEADS UP!!!!

09-18-2012 09:11 AM in reply to: bruce.jordan

Nope.  I finally uninstalled and reinstalled Civil3d without it yesterday.  Huge improvement in performance and my problem went away.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.