Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Civil 3D Road Junction

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
rjjohnstone
856 Views, 2 Replies

Civil 3D Road Junction

Hello, I am very new to C3D after using inroads. I have just tried to create my 1st junction and the kerb returns seem to reverse the assembly so that verge is inside the junction. I have started a new drawing and created a new alignment intersection, when I apply the junction command same thing, approach roads fine radius appearing to reverse the assembly template into the junction. Thank you in advance.
2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
MikeEvansUK
in reply to: rjjohnstone

InRoads (Im guessing) uses strings to defign the vertical alignments & generate surfaces.The same can be achieved by just creating assemblies with named points & generic links added then assign these to each baseline. In the corridor surfaces tab yopu then just use the featurelines as the definition but this is more difficult than it needs to be.

With Civil3d these strings are created by the subassembly but the logic is different so you need to work "Inside out" in some areas.

In the case of a junction I normally create an assembly wth ConditionalHorizontal subassemblies added to either side with the pavement added. These will be used as new baselines & regions controlled from the junction kerb return alignments targeting the side road channel line & proposed Centreline. This means that you need either alignments with profiles for the centreline & both kerb returns or 3dpolylines or Featurelines.