AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,858
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 11 of 18 (539 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Often Freezes mid-command when I scroll over a contour line

05-31-2012 05:23 AM in reply to: ssomers

Just for the heck of it, try a different brand graphics card.

 

Bill

 

 

Active Contributor
ssomers
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 12 of 18 (531 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Often Freezes mid-command when I scroll over a contour line

05-31-2012 08:01 AM in reply to: wfberry

I don't think that's it. My coworker has an identical hardware setup and he says he's never had this problem. And anyways, I work for a small company, and we don't have any extra graphics cards to swap in.

- Shawn
---------------------
Civil 3D 2015

64-bit HP Desktop - HP Z420; 24GB RAM
Intel Xeon CPU E5-1620 0 @ 3.60 GHz
AMD Radeon HD 6570
Windows 7 SP1
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,858
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 13 of 18 (527 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Often Freezes mid-command when I scroll over a contour line

05-31-2012 08:39 AM in reply to: ssomers

That makes it easy.  The two of you swap cards.

 

Bill

Valued Mentor
david.zavislan
Posts: 266
Registered: ‎10-31-2006
Message 14 of 18 (516 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Often Freezes mid-command when I scroll over a contour line

06-01-2012 08:42 AM in reply to: ssomers

Toggle off SELECTIONCYCLING.

David Zavislan, P.E. | Wood Rodgers, Inc.
Active Contributor
JonRusk
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎12-16-2008
Message 15 of 18 (503 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Often Freezes mid-command when I scroll over a contour line

06-05-2012 02:32 PM in reply to: ssomers

It happens to ours sometimes when in a command and moving over civil points with the point style as the X inside the O (pdmode 35). If OSMODE is 107 (end mid nod int ins) it looks like acad tries to calculate every endpoint, intersection, midpoint etc. on every point symbol. The farther zoomed out and the closer the points are to eachother the slower it goes. I usually toggle F3 to turn off osnaps when rolling over stuff like this. That or turn off some of the osnaps.

Civil 3D 2013 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Dell T3500 - Xeon 2.67 - 24gb - Quadro 600
Active Contributor
ssomers
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 16 of 18 (498 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Often Freezes mid-command when I scroll over a contour line

06-05-2012 04:13 PM in reply to: JonRusk
I think you are on to something. For the last few days I've turned off some of the Osnap settings I typically keep on and it "seems" to be working. I knock on wood when I say that though. -Shawn
- Shawn
---------------------
Civil 3D 2015

64-bit HP Desktop - HP Z420; 24GB RAM
Intel Xeon CPU E5-1620 0 @ 3.60 GHz
AMD Radeon HD 6570
Windows 7 SP1
Active Member
bydesign99
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-03-2009
Message 17 of 18 (392 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Often Freezes mid-command when I scroll over a contour line

10-31-2012 02:18 PM in reply to: ssomers

I'm having the same issues, so frustrating.  Tooltips off, OSNAPS off. Did you ever find resolution?

Active Contributor
ssomers
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎11-23-2011
Message 18 of 18 (347 Views)

Re: Civil 3D Often Freezes mid-command when I scroll over a contour line

11-07-2012 09:49 AM in reply to: bydesign99

I found that simply turning off some of the osnap settings (intersection in particular for some reason) and turning off "selection preview when a command is active" in the options has solved this issue. I haven't experienced this crash since adjusting these two things.

 

Hope it helps you too.

- Shawn
---------------------
Civil 3D 2015

64-bit HP Desktop - HP Z420; 24GB RAM
Intel Xeon CPU E5-1620 0 @ 3.60 GHz
AMD Radeon HD 6570
Windows 7 SP1
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.