AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,860
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 31 of 60 (530 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-26-2012 09:26 AM in reply to: scott
that's the market research done for Autodesk.....don't bother with civil for Mac just fix the bugs in the PC version...:smileyhappy:
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Active Member
igee
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 32 of 60 (494 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-27-2012 03:55 AM in reply to: neilyj

If MACs are really that expensive (and I am not sure they are), maybe Android can come to the rescue???

We all had to forgive Microsoft for Vista but now they did it again!!! This time they did worse - they matched their Windows Mobile failure. MS got nervous at the superior OS offered by Apple, then tried to match it but, instead of rewriting their inferior OS, they added a tile-based desktop to the old menu-based desktop and then moved some functionalities from the one to the other - EXACTLY what they did with Windows Mobile just before it disappeared from the mobile phone arena.

 

Now, what about Autodesk?

C3D sure was an ambitious project and what a commendable piece of software!! Problem is with the keeping up. Autodesk's reluctance to fix their products swiftly and efficiently, slow response to much needed additional functionalities and their unwillingness to remain relevant to the larger graphical design community (where MAC OS holds a significant share) is disturbing. They should be there with MAC OS and they should be there with whoever replaces Microsoft. That’s only if they are serious about their survival in a rapidly globalising market with competition on the way.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,860
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 33 of 60 (487 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-27-2012 05:36 AM in reply to: scott
leave the graphic design to the Apple fanboys and we engineers will stick to civil 3d on our PCs....a bit of controversy before the new year.....
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,757
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 34 of 60 (458 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-27-2012 08:29 PM in reply to: scott
[...Whoever replaces Microsoft...]

MS is not going anywhere anytime really soon. Maybe someday certainly. At that time Autodesk can and must switch gears. In the meantime, I disagree that they should support a MAC OS. Better to leave the resources in a single pace in my opinion.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,004
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 35 of 60 (449 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-28-2012 04:53 AM in reply to: igee

igee wrote:

Autodesk's reluctance to fix their products swiftly and efficiently, slow response to much needed additional functionalities 


I don't know if it's a "reluctance" but rather a decision to dedicate resources to other tasks. Like coming up with the next change to the GUI.

But this is exactly why you see so much reluctance in those responding to you posts. We don't want to see Autodesk divert resources to rewriting Civil 3D for the MAX OS. We want those resources focused on the repair and improvement of the software it's self.

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,508
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 36 of 60 (437 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-28-2012 06:58 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

AllenJessup wrote:
We don't want to see Autodesk divert resources to rewriting Civil 3D for the MAX OS. We want those resources focused on the repair and improvement of the software it's self.

Exactly. IMO, if the MAC crowd get noisy enough to warrant development on this platform, then fine do it. But please hire a new team of programmers and pass on those development costs (time and money) to the MAC users.

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,885
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 37 of 60 (425 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-28-2012 10:26 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

I hardily concur with Matt, Allen, R.K. & neilyj and a host of others.

 

Bill

 

 

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,819
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 38 of 60 (404 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-28-2012 03:48 PM in reply to: scott

Another thing to think about, how long will Civil 3D be around? Is it nearing the end of it's life cycle? Is there something coming down the pipe from Autodesk to replace Civil 3D? Or will it continue on for another decade or more? I honestly don't know. If Autodesk is actively working on a replacement for C3D, there is no chance it will go to the Mac. Even if they aren't working on a replacement for Civil 3D, the effort to port it over to a Mac would be extreme to say the least. Civil design software on the Mac will probably have to wait until the next family of software that will replace C3D.

 

Of course, I'm probably wrong about all of this and we'll find out tomorrow that they are releasing a Mac version and C3D will be around for the next 1/4 century. :smileyhappy:

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,508
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 39 of 60 (365 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-31-2012 09:07 AM in reply to: BrianHailey

BrianHailey wrote:

Another thing to think about, how long will Civil 3D be around? 


Good point. Will we all be on the cloud at that point in time? Then it won't matter what local O/S you are running. ;-)

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,860
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 40 of 60 (354 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-31-2012 10:04 AM in reply to: scott
Cloud....I do hope not....!!!!!
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.