AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
igee
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 21 of 60 (549 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-25-2012 02:03 AM in reply to: Sinc

I just bought my 7th DELL. This time with the latest and greatest windows 8!!!! Sorry DELL, my next machine is a MAC. Autodesk - you make your decisions as you please but I am going MAC soon and finding you there would have been great.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,006
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 22 of 60 (520 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-26-2012 04:57 AM in reply to: igee

Your choice. But since you didn't mention why your latest Dell made you make that decision. There isn't much to say. I bought a Dell M6500 last year and it's running like a champ.

Active Member
igee
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 23 of 60 (516 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-26-2012 05:08 AM in reply to: igee

Dell is most certainly not the problem. Windows is.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,467
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 24 of 60 (504 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-26-2012 06:29 AM in reply to: igee

why did you get windows 8?

none of the autocad products are supported on windows 8 nor has autodesk ceritified them for windows 8

Active Member
igee
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 25 of 60 (499 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-26-2012 06:41 AM in reply to: igee

My point is: Windows is losing market share. Autodesk should give more consideration to the development of C3D for MAC.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,006
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 26 of 60 (483 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-26-2012 08:08 AM in reply to: igee

igee wrote:

 Autodesk should give more consideration to the development of C3D for MAC.


I'm sure Autodesk is aware of market trends. When they think that they will sell enough MAC versions of Civil 3D. They will issue a version that will run on a MAC OS. But based on how long it took them to release vanilla AutoCAD in the current version [there was a very old MAC version] it's going to be a while.

Civil 3D is only a small part of the AutoDesk market. Even when based only on AutoCAD based products, it's still a relatively small market. They're going to wait until {profit from number of anticipated sales - development} = PROFIT.  Until they see a profit in it, they're not going to be interested.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,862
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 27 of 60 (477 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-26-2012 08:26 AM in reply to: scott
it'd be interesting to know what market sectors would consider a Mac version of Civil 3D.
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,513
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 28 of 60 (469 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-26-2012 08:39 AM in reply to: neilyj

neilyj wrote:
it'd be interesting to know what market sectors would consider a Mac version of Civil 3D.

Not us.

 

If they want to port to Mac (or whatever), let those users pay for the development costs. Keep the C3D Windows team intact and focused on existing bugs and new features for the Windows platform.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 6,006
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 29 of 60 (467 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-26-2012 08:42 AM in reply to: neilyj

Yes. That would be interesting. I would believe that would only be the individual of very small business users. Most places with any sizable user base will have an IT dept. that will specify the type of hardware used. As it is where I work.

 

Shops of a larger size will also have non-CAD computer users; Clerical, HR, etc. So any change of hardware and OS would be a major undertaking. Not only in hardware and software expense but in retraining as well.

 

I must admit that I'm old enough not to be fond of anything that's really GUI. I find that the contextual ribbon is useful but I still prefer the command line and aliases for most things. So I don't anticipate liking the Window 8 desktop. A really stupid idea in my opinion.

*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,943
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 30 of 60 (460 Views)

Re: Civil 3D for Mac

12-26-2012 09:02 AM in reply to: igee

Nor us. As I agree with your sentiment Randy regarding the product my boss would simply look at the number's above and with just 6 seats he would never consider $21,000 vs. $9000 for PC's.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.